Instant Gratification Friday

A look through my instagram and smart phone photos this week shows me that it’s All About the Weather. Finally, the 2nd to the last week in January brought us some measurable lake effect snow and some really cold weather. It was also a week at home as well, but because several of my vacation days included single digit temperatures, I didn’t really get as much winter hiking or cross-country skiing in as I would have liked. I guess I’m just a fair weather winter lover waiting for the temperature to get up into the 20’s before I can enjoy Michigan’s winter wonderland.

Some of this weeks photos:

wpid-IMG_20130121_140045.jpg

Trying to measure the snow depth without a ruler. Looking at the snow on the chair, I’m guessing about 4 inches?

wpid-IMG_20130122_171742.jpg

As much as I love the snow, I really get tired of cleaning it off my car.

wpid-IMG_20130122_174318.jpg

I love this graffiti – and it really says something when it is 10 degrees F at 4:00pm in the afternoon.

wpid-IMG_20130123_193707.jpg

A very grainy photo of the downtown park at night in a snowstorm.

 
image

I had no idea this church was all lit up at night. I rarely see it from the front, only from the back.

wpid-IMG_20130123_193350.jpg

You can see the heavy snowfall by way of the street light. Smartphones aren’t the best for night-time scenes.

wpid-2013-01-24_08-16-59_994.jpg

Old houses and icicles. Seeing the sun coming up the next morning. The temperature was at 2 degrees. Brrrr.

wpid-IMG_20130123_183109.jpg

Okay, this really is instant gratification. I had taken myself out to dinner and had the urge for a little dessert. It was so pretty I had to take a photo. Even the mint leaf has some chocolate drizzle on it.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in icicles, instant gratification, Michigan, nature, photos, snow, weather, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Instant Gratification Friday

  1. I really do prefer for the temperature to be above the teens. I think I’m more intrigued by the night pictures.

  2. commonweeder says:

    We are having near zero temperatures, and the ground is freshly sparkling this morning. We are all about the weather on our hill, too. Blue skies today!

  3. Cathwren says:

    My favourite is the snow covered chair… Beautiful pics… hope you are outside right now. It’s 5:37 p,m. and the sunset is making the tips of the bare tree sculptures look a blaze

  4. RobinL says:

    I always watch the weather up there in my home state of Michigan, and I see you guys had some good snow and ice. I guess it should be expected in Michigan, in January!

Leave a Reply

