Instant Gratification Friday

Dreaming of Spring

So far, winter in Michigan has pretty much been a bust. Cold with very little snow makes for a dreary season. Everything is pretty much gray. I dream of spring, when a haze of green covers the ground and trees and that smell of moist earth and growing things. If the color green had a smell, that is what it would smell like.  Now, in the cold, gloomy days of winter, I’ve almost forgotten what spring is.

I decided to dig through my instagram and my ‘droid to see if I could revisit the ghost of past springs.

wpid-IMG_20130118_100229.jpg

Hellebore Blue Lady, one of the first flowers to bloom in the garden.

wpid-IMG_20130118_094247.jpg

wpid-IMG_20130118_094157.jpg

wpid-IMG_20130118_094056.jpg

wpid-2012-03-14_19-29-11_856.jpg

Not far behind are the snow crocuses (croci?) and the iris reticulata.

wpid-2012-03-17_14-51-23_272.jpg

We never consider the violet a weed,  especially in the spring.

wpid-IMG_20130118_095933.jpg

The first daffodils to bloom in my garden, “February Gold”, though they never bloom in February, but usually at the end of March.

wpid-2012-04-03_18-10-55_514.jpg

One of the last daffodils to bloom in May. I don’t know its name. Daffodils are my favorite flowers in the spring, so I have a lot of them, all sorts of varieties and bloom times.

wpid-IMG_20130118_100109.jpg

There are a lot of blooming trees in the downtown area. This is a crabapple tree with double blooms.

wpid-2012-05-20_12-42-00_150.jpg

Another favorite, the columbine. This photo was taken in North Carolina at the annual Garden Bloggers Fling. The columbine in my garden didn’t do so well last spring – hopefully they’ll do better this year.

wpid-IMG_20130118_093534.jpg

Not the best photo of my favorite patch of tulips. Unlike many other tulips I’ve planted, these keep coming back year after year.

wpid-2012-03-21_10-51-09_98.jpg

Another crabapple tree, this one directly in front of the downtown library.

Before winter loosens its grip, I’d love to have at least one big snow; the kind of snow that makes you feel like a kid again. Wading up to your knees in the fluffy white stuff, reddening your cheeks, stinging your nose when you take a breath…. remember the swish, swish swish sound that your snow pants made as you hike in the woods, the trees all covered and looking like a Christmas card…a dream for another day.

It’s a bit late for Garden Bloggers Bloom day, hosted by Carol at May Dreams Gardens, but since this is the first time in a long time that I’ve posted anything from my garden I thought I would be a late Lucy and join the gang.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, flowers, gardening, instant gratification, Michigan, nature, photos, spring, weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Instant Gratification Friday

  1. joannethiemehuffman says:

    I have been missing a really good snow, too. I enjoyed the color and freshness of your spring photos; as much as I love the flowers, I think the flowering trees are my favorite part of spring.

  2. cathwren warner says:

    Thanks for the peek at Springs past… I too, am tired of the color grey…

  3. Brooke says:

    What a great post to enjoy on this Winter’s day… I have been busy with some decorating and craft projects this week and behind on reading my emails and posts. So glad I stopped in to enjoy your site!

    Thanks for sharing!
    God bless….Brooke

Leave a Reply

