Snowy Day

We had  a lovely lake-effect snowstorm Sunday evening and into Monday, enough that the news asked folks to stay off the road Monday morning. Luckily for me, Monday was a holiday so I pretty much padded around in my PJ’s most of the day and didn’t venture out until about 4:30 in the afternoon. I discovered that my two new cats, these tough street cats that lived outdoors until I adopted them, suddenly became indoor kitties and refused to go out and face the snow.

This is Buddy, who is a hefty tabby with 13 pounds of pure muscle. He is a handsome cat but is surprisingly mild-mannered. He’s at least 2-3 years old and I think he’s happy to leave his fighting days behind him.

This is the newest addition to the family. I’ve been calling him Sam or Little One. He is a little thing and though he has some tabby markings, his back has more of a tortoiseshell look than stripes. He’s a scrapper and not afraid of Buddy who is twice his weight and a lot bigger. He likes to cuddle in bed with me and I suspect that he is a lot younger than Buddy and a lot smarter. I love his white mustache and beard – like Colonial Sanders.

Being the good pet owner, I finally got dressed and went out in the late afternoon to shovel paths for the cats and for myself. I cleaned off the sidewalks, driveway and car. however, I forgot my camera and didn’t take any of those wonderful first snow pictures that I try to capture.

So yesterday, I took my camera with me to work. I heard that we were going to get warmer weather, the snow would melt and I didn’t want to miss my opportunity.

Turns out that I didn’t get very many photos and those I took could have been more interesting. When you are trying to capture lovely nature shots, an urban setting is less than optimal.

Looking out my window before daybreak. Everything really did have a bluish cast.

My favorite of the bunch. Frost on the inside of my car window.

It’s supposed to get back up into the 40’s again by this weekend. Goodbye Snow.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in cats, icicles, Michigan, photos, snow, urban, weather, winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snowy Day

  1. Beautiful cats! I’m glad they have found a good home with you.
    Good snow pics – my favorite is the snow on the fence.
    Best wishes for the New Year!
    Lea

  2. It would be completely fine with me if the temperature remained in the 40’s until Spring. Our weather forecast reads that it will be near 40F again today here in West Michigan.

    Of course it’s important that our plants get a thick, insulating blanket of snow here soon – the temperature is certain to go down to near 10F in the very near future. Happily, as of this writing, it is only another 75 days until Spring.

  3. The cats look quite contented. The snow looks cold and I’m not sorry I missed it. After so many years in Michigan, it seems harded to capture the one great snow photo; you would think it would get easier.

  4. Lisa says:

    Hey there:
    I did not realize you had a blog. I’ve just spent quite a while enjoying it. Love your beautiful photos.
    -Lisa

  5. Hey there girl !
    These kitties are gorgeous boys and that is too true about the white mustache and goatee look of the ColonialSanders ! Too funny !
    Great pictures and that frost one is super !!
    Joy : )

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Just seeing that Summer St sign cracked me up with all that snow around. What lucky kitties to get to come live with you. It just goes to show they know where heaven is located.

Leave a Reply

