November at Hampton Lake

I visit my favorite little lake throughout the year, but rarely go down there in November; mainly because November is cold and the view is monotonous – grey skies and water, brown meadows and bare black trees.

This year however, on Thanksgiving day, the sun briefly came out in the afternoon. Since we were at a lull in cooking dinner, I decided to pull on my rubber boots and hike on down to see what it looked like. (if the photos are too big to see them clearly, you may click on them to a better size.)

Looking back up the trail from the lake. It’s a marshy little spring-fed lake so we have to lay boards down in some of the really soggy parts. It also helps to wear boots to keep your feet dry.

Lots of brown but still with attractive seed heads.

The afternoon sun gave the brown fields a golden glow.

The lake levels are very high this year. I’ve heard that a beaver has built a dam at the lake’s outlet, raising the overall level. Since the level has been going down for the last few years, I don’t really feel as though it is a bad thing.

It soon disappeared, returning the lake and surrounding view to the usual November greys and browns.  

Luckily, we have bright red berries to perk things up.

It was a bit chilly, so I was happy to hike back to the warm house to turkey and pumpkin pie.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in autumn, hiking, holiday celebration, Michigan, nature, photos, Seasonal, seeds, water, weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November at Hampton Lake

  1. I enjoyed going on the walk with you (especially since I stayed toasty warm and well rested). I think the berry photo is my favorite, but I like them all.

  2. Cathy says:

    I loved all the new pictures… the brown stickers were wonderful….. but the hands serving the pie is my favorite

  3. Jill-O says:

    I take a lot of photos of this little lake – it’s still a little wild, which I like and it’s full of childhood memories. I took several photos that day – the pictures I post are the ones I liked the best.

    Joanne, I also love the berry photo. I’m thinking that it may end up being used for a Christmas card design, especially if I can take another photo of the bright red berries covered with snow.

    Catherine, the pie photo is the only one that came out of all the Thanksgiving photos I took. My sister served the pie – doesn’t she have beautifull hands?

Leave a Reply

