Trying to Get Ready for Winter

Before the rains came

I took the week off of work with the intention of cleaning up the gardens, mowing one last time, putting pots away, repotting my geraniums and other annuals I hope to overwinter…in other words, closing up shop for the winter.

The weather had other ideas. It has been blowing and raining and cold for the last 2 days. Today is my last day off, I go back to work on Saturday and the weather channel is predicting frost for tonight. Even though it is only 44 degrees (F) right now, it’s no longer raining.  I’ll just have to layer up and brave the cold and get things done. The sun is supposed to come out this afternoon; if it does I’m grabbing my walking shoes and camera to see if the winds left us any autumn color on the trees.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in autumn, gardening, Michigan, nature, Seasonal, weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trying to Get Ready for Winter

  1. martko1964 says:

    I share your same story. Every time I prepare myself to go into the yard and get ready for winter, the weather has a different idea. We’ll get there eventually….I have faith.

  2. Cathy says:

    Love your picture before the wind……. I am hoping the sun comes out tomorrow and we can see what’s left…. sometime the past peak woods are just as beautiful, but that doesn’t show its full beauty without the sunshine…

  3. Cathy says:

    I hope we get some sunshine tomorrow as sometimes the past peak beauty is awesome, but it needs sun shine to see it.

    • Jill-O says:

      The sun never did show it’s face today and tomorrow is a work day – all day at the library. So, if we get sun on Saturday, I won’t be able to take advantage of it. Of course, there is always Sunday….

  4. Tom Reed says:

    Jill, I don’t know what you are taloking about. It was a beautiful day in the 70’s ( a little chilly, had to wear my sweat shirt thins AM while walking Tar) the sun shone brightly all day with not a cloud to be seen. Sorry!!!!!

  5. Of course, for me, the solution is to not do the yard work at all. Love your Before the Rain photo.

  6. RobinL says:

    I know just what you are talking about. Just drove up to St. Joe for a little getaway and nothing but rain! Darn it. It literally NEVER stopped raining the whole time I was there. No pretty fall pictures or beach pictures for me. What a disappointment.

Leave a Reply

