Bugs Galore

I don’t know why I’m so fascinated with bugs. One of my favorite childhood books is “Freckles” by Gene Stratton-Porter. The book, set in the Limberlost Swamp in Indiana, was full of references to moths and butterflies and other living things. I also have 2 older brothers who were always bringing home creepy, crawly critters so it was always a good idea to show no fear around them.

 I know that my last post was all about butterflies, but this seems to be a very good year for spotting them so I had to add a few more. 

A lovely Tiger Swallowtail. I followed this one around and around  and around until he finally made a delicate landing on a zinnia at the Children’s Garden at MSU. The other folks in the garden must have thought I was nuts because I kept going in circles.

One of my favorite photos for this year of a Monarch visiting a Tiger Lily in my Mom’s garden.

Funny, but I don’t remember this shot at all. It looks as though it was also taken at the MSU gardens but I guess I was so busy chasing the big Swallowtail, that I totally forgot this little Checkerspot in the buddleia.

I almost stepped on this little spiderweb early one morning while I was out weeding. The web was only about 4″ wide and I could barely see the spider. If it wasn’t for the sun making the dew-covered web gleam, I would have demolished it. Isn’t a dew-covered web a sign of fairies?

There are lots of Dragonflies and Damselflies flitting around my house – another sign of fairies, I think.

The difference between the Damselfly and the Dragonfly:

A Damselfly has a longer, thinner, more delicate looking body, their eyes are at the side of their head and their wings are held  together over their body when at rest.

On the other hand, Dragonflies have thicker bodies, their eyes are at the top of their head and their wings are spread out at their sides when at rest. Both types of insects come in a variety of lovely colors.

 

This beetle is known as the Eastern Milkweed Longhorn Beetle .

The Milkweed Bug at the larval stage. I’m not sure if they end up looking like the guy in the above picture or if they become the Large Milkweed beetle which looks very similar but without the long antenae. 

I saw these small bright green bees all over at the MSU gardens. They’re so purty. Unfortunately this guy has the most boring insect name:  the Virescent Green Metallic Bee.

And my last sighting: Fashionable bugs for Master Gardener wear.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in books, butterflies, flowers, gardens, insects, Michigan, nature, photos, summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

