Garden Bloggers Bloom Day Nov 2010

After the lovely warm, sunny weather we’ve been having, it finally decided that it was November after all and got decidedly nippy today. I got the homemade heated bird bath set up and plugged in so the water wouldn’t freeze up and looked around for something to shoot for Garden Bloggers Bloom day tomorrow. Carol from Maydreams Gardens hosts this event each month and because of my work schedule this last summer and fall, I’ve put off posting. Now that work has lightened up a bit, it’s time to put in my 2 cents worth.

But not too much is going on and I need my gloves cause it is cold!

The leaves have fallen from my Euonymus bush leaving only the bright red berries. The chickadees are making short work of them and I suspect that even those will disappear within the next month. 

The ornamental pear is the last of the trees to shed its leaves. They seem to  glow in the late afternoon sun.

One more look at my favorite grass, the Northern Sea Oats.

Inside the house, it’s a different story. We are bursting with the grandest floral display.

All my Christmas Cacti decided to get a jump on the holidays and, like the stores, began showing off their colors right after Halloween.

Of course, with all this color now, I’m going to be in for a drab January.

Still, I can always get the best color from the early evening sky.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in autumn, bloom day, flowers, holiday celebration, indoor gardening, Michigan, photos, seeds, sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day Nov 2010

  1. Bernieh says:

    Loved all your photos … most especially the shot of those gorgeous leaves off your ornamental Pear tree. Love your Christmas cactus flowers … especially the last pale pink bloom.

  2. You images are lovely. My pear is going golden, with a dappling of red. I thought it would be all red this year, but the weather has it going gold.

  3. Lona says:

    Good afternoon. Wow, your Christmas cacti are so pretty. My one and only one is blooming now too. LOL! You still have some gorgeous Fall colors outdoors yet. Have a wonderful week!

  4. Scott says:

    Lovely post…that pear foliage is as stunning as any flower!

  5. Oh, how I do love Christmas cactus!

Leave a Reply

