Summer in the City:Chicago- A View from the Window

 

a hot, sunny, steamy day.

I made the trip to Chicago last week, as my prize for Midwest Living Magazine’s photo contest. My younger sister and I spent 4 days and 3 nights in a lovely hotel in the area known as the Gold Coast, eating in some really fine restaurants and seeing a great musical.

Sister, a foodie by hobby and dietician by profession, watching mostly the Food channel and HGTV, was especially excited about the food while I, theatre geek that I am, was thrilled at going to the musical.

I love Chicago with its beautiful architecture, the brownstones, old and new buildings standing right next to each other creating a really beautiful skyscape. The next time I visit, I promise that I will take an architectural tour to really appreciate the old buildings. I try to visit the city every now and then, but rarely stay overnight, taking the train in from Michigan City and making a day trip of it, usually to the Flower and Garden show in March or the Art Museum in autumn.

The best part of  this trip was the time I spent with my sister, something we haven’t done in a long, long time. It’s funny; when she was living in Detroit, we would actually get together on a semi-regular basis to go to a show, the renaissance fair or even shopping at the mall. Now that we live in the same town, we barely see each other. On our way home from this adventure, we promised each other to get together at least once a month and go out to dinner; perhaps finding some special restaurants here at home.

I’ve put together a montage of photos of some of the sights seen while we were there. There wasn’t enough time to do everything I wanted to do, I’d need at least a week.  I took too many pictures, so I’ve divided them into three different posts. Today’s posting is “Views from the Window”.  Stay tuned tomorrow for “Culinary Delights”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Chicago, photos, summer, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

