Green, Green

Green, green, it’s green they say

On the far side of the hill

Green, green, I’m goin’ away

To where the grass is greener still.

Green Green by the New Christy Minstrels

I guess I’m one of “those” folks who hears a word or phrase and immediately a melody pops into their head . You can usually recognize these types when they begin humming in the middle of a conversation. Or they will be sitting at their desk working and suddenly burst out in song. You may think they are nuts (and they may think the same of themselves) but this is just how their mind works and nothing can be done to correct it. And since they are usually very entertaining, would you really want to?

Last night I stopped by Gardening Gone Wild, and haven’t stopped humming Green, Green by the New Christy Minstrels since that time. What set me off? The theme for the photo contest this month is “Green World”.

That’s a hard one for me. I tend toward the bright flowers rather than the background green shade. I’m going to have to really dig through my photo files.

In order to find the right photo, Rob Cardillo, this month’s judge says, “I’m looking for images where the color green steps up and takes the spotlight for a change.  And let’s be ecumenical by celebrating green’s infinite range of personalities. That means we’ll include bluish, yellowish, grayish, golden and silvery greens in the mix. You can enter landscapes, flowers, foliage, bark, buds, berries, fruits and even green roots if you got ‘em.”

Okay, I’ve managed to find a few that I think fits the requirements. Now I could use some help in picking out just one. Luckily for me, WordPress has just added a slideshow capability to the image upload so this would be a good opportunity to try it out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So which one of these photos really pops out at you and why? The more feedback I get will hopefully help me make a final decision.

Speaking of green, we’re finally getting some rain today, the first really good rain in about a month and even though the temperature is dropping back down, the grass has suddenly turned a bright green and the spring bulbs have really perked up. It really is a green, green day.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, plants, spring, trees and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Green, Green

  1. Fiddlehead fern, Jill. I just interviewed a scientist working on their nutritional benefits, plus I LOVE them cooked or as a garden plant. So that would be my vote.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      The fiddlehead is definitely among my top 3 favorite photos shown here. I’ve heard about their nutritional value, but I’m not sure I could actually eat one. They are much too pretty.

  2. Floridagirl says:

    Three jumped out at me…”Spring Rain” (ooh), “Fiddlehead Fern”, and “Chinese Lanterns.” Very pretty photos. I’d love to walk those woods today.

  3. roundrockgarden says:

    I vote for the Fiddlehead Fern – that’s an awesome pic!

  4. Marge says:

    Hey Sis – You know I was the Hosta queen when I lived in MI. the Fiddlehead has the “ooooh” factor —–But —- I liked the “Trail”, it looks like I’ve been there before.
    Love you – Oh ya and I liked the Sedum too. So was I any help?

  5. Tom Reed says:

    Jill,
    As always you do great work. I am having a hard time between the view in the woods, and the fiddle fern. I have always had a soft spot for ferns. So I guess That I would pick the fern.

    Thanks for asking for our input
    Tom

  6. marmee says:

    it’s a great thing sometimes to have to go back thru our files…these are some great green shots. i happen to love green and plant a lot of it. i had green zinnias last summer that i loved…this year, now it is hellebores with tinges of red.
    i love the trail shot…you can feel the warmth of the sun.
    i also love the emerging hostas…so full of life.
    it will be a hard decision for you but go with your instinct.
    happy spring gardening.

Leave a Reply

