Love is in the Air

I could really hear the gabble-gabbling of the turkeys today. They sounded as if they were coming from the woods way beyond the house. And it just didn’t stop. I filled up the birdfeeder with seed and the birdbath with water; made several trips for firewood and loaded up the car. It was time to go. Then I saw them.

A whole flock of wild turkeys (called a rafter) and somebody over there was making a great deal of noise. Do you see him? The big, plump one on the far right. This guy was puffing himself up to twice his normal size.

Oh, now I get it. This guy is going a’courtin’. Putting on his bright red wattle and fancy duds to impress all the girls. He keeps gobbling, “Look at me, look at me!” None of the ladies seem that interested. Or are they playing hard to get?

What a flirt! I guess in some cases, size is important.

Now the back view.

No matter how quietly I sneak outside, they always see me and take off. One last view of loverboy before he heads down the hill and into the woods. Yeah, that’s right! Get a room!

Be sure to click on the pictures for a closer view.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in birds, humor, nature, photos, Seasonal, spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love is in the Air

  1. Nell Jean says:

    I love when they fly, like a torpedo.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Hi Nell Jean,

      I’ve seen them kind of hop up to the top of the fence or in the lower branches of a tree, and I’ve seen them flapping their wings as they jump back down, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen them actually fly-fly. I didn’t know they could. They are good runners, though.

Leave a Reply

