Garden Bloggers Bloom Day March 2010

I missed a couple of months for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day, cause I had nothing to show off, either indoors or out. This month I’ve got a few blooms indoors and lots of green things sprouting outdoors and, if we ever got any temperatures over 48 degrees (F) I would be out there, starting my spring cleanup.

On March 8th, we still had quite a bit of snow on the ground.

Two days later, the snow is gone.

Look at all the winter debris. Time for a cleanup.

But stuff is popping.

I don’t know for sure what this is. It’s something I bought new last year. I’ll know better when it opens up.

I seem to have a lot of tulips coming up. I’m not really much of a tulip person, and though I remember a few last year, they seem to have multiplied.

Some of my hyacinths poking through the soil.

I may not be into tulips much, but I do love my daffodils. These early bloomers, called February Gold, almost always get snowed on or frosted out. You can see the buds; they are getting ready to bloom within the next couple of weeks.

I’ve got this one primrose that always blooms before all the others.

And the little snow crocuses, looking like soldiers at attention, are  just waiting for a sunny day to open up.

Many of them never get a chance to bloom, making a nice fresh salad for the squirrels instead.

I even have a few of the big, fat crocuses just waiting for the next sunny day.

While I am waiting for the outdoor blooms,  I’m enjoying a little spring inside, getting me over the hump.

courtesy of the local grocery store.

Carol at May Dreams Gardens is hostess for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day each month. She’s been doing some freshening up and some spring cleaning with a new look for her blog. Be sure to stop by for a look.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, flowers, gardening, photos, plants, spring, weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day March 2010

  1. Hurrah for the signs of spring! My garden looks much like yours – a few shoots and begging for me to get out there and tidy up. Thanks for sharing – Kelly

  2. Diane says:

    Everything starts happening so quickly at this time of year! Can’t wait to see those daffodils; I hope they make it! We’re due to get snow this weekend in IL… ugh.

  3. Hi Jill,
    You have a nice assortment of crocuses. I”m glad that snow is melted!

Leave a Reply

