Invasion of the Pod People

“On the twenty-third day of the month of September
in an early year of a decade not too long before our own,
the human race suddenly encountered a deadly
threat to its very existence.
And this terrifying enemy surfaced,
as such enemies often do,
in the seemingly most innocent and unlikely of places.”

“I was walkin’ in the wholesale flower district that day
and I passed by this place where this old Chinese man
he sometimes sells me weird and exotic cuttings,
’cause he knows, you see, that strange plants are my hobby.”

“He didn’t have anything unusual there that day.
so I was just about to, ya know, walk on by,
when suddenly,
and without warning, there was this total eclipse of the sun.”

“It got very dark and there was this strange
sound like something from another world.
And when the light came back this weird plant was just sitting there,”

just, you know, stuck in, among the zinnias.
Audrey Two.
I coulda sworn it hadn’t been there before,
but the old Chinese man sold it to me anyways,
for a dollar ninety-five.”

“I’ve given you sunlight.
I’ve given you rain.
Looks like you’re not happy,
‘Less I open a vein.
I’ll give you a few drops
If that’ll appease.
Now please-oh please-grow for me!”

 It’s Growing….

Feed Me, Seymour!

FEED ME!

FEED ME!!

Lyrics originally from the Musical “Little Shop of Horrors”

by  Alan Menken and Howard Ashman

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, humor, indoor gardening, photos, plants, theatre and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Invasion of the Pod People

  1. Tom says:

    I knew it by the second stanza. I love that musical. Beautiful pictures and imagery. Thanks!

  2. Teresa O says:

    Let there be lips! Those are stunning photos from tight green bud to full blown vibrant red amaryllis. I espcially like the cluster of seven buds ready to unfurl.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I don’t know which variety I have, but it seems to be extremely prolific. Two pods have already bloomed, and I have a third pod coming up from behind.

Leave a Reply

