Fishing on the Ice

Sunset on Hampton Lake

There is nothing like a sunset in the wintertime. Unfortunately, in Southwest Michigan, we have a lot of gray days or it’s snowing. Last Sunday, we had clouds all day but it suddenly cleared up in the late afternoon. The best view of the sun going down is at the lake so I headed on down.

Hampton Lake is a small, private, spring fed lake surrounded by swamp. Because it is spring fed, it makes for cold swimming in the summer and has trouble staying frozen in the winter.

Still, just because the ice is thin, the ice fishermen will still cometh. When I left, it was getting pretty dark, but they had hunkered down and showed no signs of leaving.

Be sure to click on the picture if you would like to see a larger shot.

Coming down the path to the lake

I made it just as the sun was beginning to go down

Most of the fisherman are on the other side of the lake.

There are quite a few fishermen here, considering how small the lake is.

The Department of Natural Resources (called the DNR) used to stock the lake with trout so the fishing is good. Now it’s called the DNRE, adding “and environment” to the end.

This is difficult to see, but that is open water in the background. To the far right at about the same distance, is a hole and fishing equipment.

More open water along the shore. Last week we had some 35-40 degree (F) weather which is the cause of the open spots. The fact that the ice was thinner this week didn’t seem to bother the fishermen.

Hey, buddy! Turn around! There is the most beautiful sunset going on behind you!

Speechless….

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in fishing, ice, Michigan, nature, photos, Seasonal, water, winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fishing on the Ice

  1. Mel says:

    Hi, I just came across your blog this evening and looked around. Those are some very nice winter shots of the pond and all the ice fisherman. Beautiful sunset also!

    Since I love the outdoors and fishing in particular, I will check back for more of your work.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Thanks for visiting. I have to say that I’m not much of a fisherman myself; but my brother was and still is. Ice fishing is cold work – it’s more pleasant in the summertime.

  2. Love the sunset photos! I have never understood the lure of ice fishing… ;>) I would be so cold standing on ice for hours. I am sure the fish is yummy when they do catch one. Still I know it must be fun to be out on the ice … hearing it crack and moan! Found you over at blotanical. Love all your bird shots. Carol

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I don’t really get ice fishing either. Still, I sat around in the cold for about 45 minutes taking pictures while they sat around fishing….I love birds and I’m continually trying to catch the perfect “cardinal in winter” photo. I’ll be posting the best of them next week, so be sure to come back for another visit.

  3. Joy says:

    JILL !!!!
    I’m sorry it has taken me so long to get here and look at what a gorgeous set up you have with the new format : )
    I love the black .. it shows the pictures up so much better and what beautiful pictures you have here girl : )
    Those red skies are my favorite .. I love sunrise/sunset vistas and you have captured it so well … BEAUTIFUL !!!
    Joy (slowpoke)

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Joy, it’s good to hear from you. You know, I always think of you and Sue from A Corner Garden whenever I take any kind of sky or sunset photos.

  4. Teresa O says:

    Oh how I love a pink sky at sunset and your photographs of a winter setting sun are gorgeous. Here in nw Ohio, we’ve been having some lovely sunrises with pink and lavender ribbons of color, as for sunsets… not so much, it’s been too gray.

Leave a Reply

