Snow Days

The first really big snow of the season dumped about 12 -15 inches of the white stuff  just as I was coming down with the flu on Wednesday, December 9th, so I wasn’t able to get many photos at the time. Unlike most of the rest of the midwest, our storm didn’t blow in from the western states, here in Southwest Michigan, we get lake effect snow. All the schools were closed on Thursday, including the two area colleges.

Even though it is now a whole month later, I want to be sure to record it so I can remember the first winter storm of the season.

Leaving work early as the storm is beginning.

 

The snow is still coming down the next day. Even though I was sick, I tried to get up and go out at least once a day. Of course, at this point I thought I only had a bad cold.

 

The snow plow working hard – they always clear our road at night. It’s a comforting sound and a reminder that I’ll have to shovel out my driveway tomorrow, especially if I want to load up on tissues, cough drops and decongestants.

 

By Friday, the sun has come out to show off the deep piles of snow. Looking down the street, you can see that my neighbors have already shoveled their sidewalk. My walk is just a footpath. Despite all my sniffling and snuffling I did my civic duty and shoveled the walk and  entry to my driveway.  I need to make a run to the store for supplies.

There is a lot of action going on at the bird feeder. These photos are a little hazy as they are taken through the kitchen window.

 

Being greeted by mourning doves as I step outside to replenish their food, all patiently waiting their turn. All I can think of is the Mother Goose rhyme  “pretty maids all in a row”.

 

I thought we were supposed to have a mild winter this year?

Be sure to check out more snowfall photos at Nancy Bond of Solilioquy and her 2009 First Snowfall Project .

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in birds, Michigan, nature, Seasonal, weather, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow Days

  1. RobinL says:

    Brrrr! Hope you feel better by now, and that the snow has relented a bit. We don’t usually get but an inch or two at a time here in Columbus, and it melts quickly. But not this year! We haven’t seen the ground in weeks, and have plenty of snow built up. Argh! I keep saying it’s like living in Michigan again! Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

  2. nancybond says:

    Hi Jill! Love your first snowy pics and I’ll be adding a link to the First Snowfall page right away. Lovely shots of your town. 🙂

  3. Teresa O says:

    Here in Nw Ohio the sun is shining, even if the temp isn’t all that high. I loved your pretty maids all in a row. There’s something so hauntingly lovely about mourning doves.

Leave a Reply

