Sniffle, Sneeze, Cough!

  

The Land of Counterpane by Jessie Wilcox-Smith

Happy New Year!

I realized that it has been a month since I last posted, but I can explain.

It’s taken me this long to recuperate from a viral bug and start feeling like myself again. Luckily, when I first came down with the bug, we had a snowstorm big enough to close the colleges (hardly ever happens) and if it’s bad enough to close the colleges, the library closes (hardly ever happens).

I went  home from work feeling pretty funky, early on Wednesday, just as the storm was beginning and sort of came back on the following Tuesday, missing only 1 day of work. Of course, it was impossible to put in a full 8 hours for another whole week, and even now I’ve got a lingering cough and have to go to bed around 8 because I have no energy to speak of.

It’s funny, when I first went home sick, my thinking was “Good, I’ll be home all day; I’ll have time to read, write, maybe play on the computer”. What I ended up doing is sleeping, sleeping, sleeping. I’ve done absolutely nothing for a full month. Luckily Christmas was quiet this year, no out-of-town family to play hostess.

New Year’s Eve was just as quiet. I met Mom downtown at 5:30 for the opening of the New Year’s Festival, which was a half hour tuba band concert in the freezing cold. Then, I went home and watched my Freaks and Geeks DVD and had my traditional New Year’s Eve dinner. I barely made it to midnight, heard the fireworks from the downtown celebration and went to bed. Even our neighborhood neglected their usual firecrackers and cherry bombs at midnight and were quiet as well.

Hopefully next year will be healthier and I’ll be more in a party mood because I love the holidays and I really didn’t get the chance to enjoy them this year.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, New Year, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sniffle, Sneeze, Cough!

  1. So, was it a flu? I had one February of 2007, and missed 2 weeks of work. I slept a lot, too, and had a variety of other symptoms, and it turned into pneumonia. I hope you get your full strength back soon.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Catherine says:

    I hope you feel much better and the rest of the year is a healthy and happy one!

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    I still cough a lot, mostly when I’m tired at night, and I’m still not up to my normal energy level. I tend to take 2 hour naps or just plan on going to bed at 8pm. Normally, I’m a night owl. Sue, the doctor never actually said the “F” word but I figured it was. The one year I missed my usual flu shot because they ran out of vaccinations before I could get it. I’ve got a full day of work on Monday, I’ll see how it goes.

  4. Teresa O says:

    I’ve been checking your blog and now I know why all was quiet. I hope you’re feeling back to normal very soon. I look forward to visiting often in the future.

Leave a Reply

