Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – November 2009

I almost forgot about Garden Bloggers Bloom Day. Carol of May Dreams Gardens is the hostess, and those of us that participate show off what is blooming in our gardens on the 15th of each month. I was surprised to find that I still had some blooms to show. Even though we have had several frosts, my tiny backyard seems to have a slightly warmer microclimate that protects the flowers.

PB050167

PB050168

I’ve had this mum for a number of years, and this is the best year I’ve ever had for blooms. I did not pinch back the growth at all during the summer and now it is incredibly full. What did I do right?

PB050169

My pansies are looking pretty beat up, but still showing me the color.

 

PB050174

I could not believe that I still have a few phlox still in bloom. You can see another new bud in the lower left corner.

 

PB050179

My obedient plant started blooming very late this year. Last year, it was covered with bees, I’m not sure any visited this autumn, it was too late, too cold.

PB050185

PB050187

Two of the last nasturtium blooms, one plant each of yellow and orange.

 

PB080231

PB110250

Meanwhile, indoors I have a couple of confused Christmas Cacti plants.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – November 2009

  1. Susie says:

    Beautiful, you must have quite a protected spot. Thanks for the reminder to get a Christmas Cactus, I just love them.

  2. Your Christmas Cactus may be confused but the top one is very pretty!

    I DO like your header shot
    🙂
    K

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Thanks Karen. I will be inheriting that particular pearly pink cactus plant from my Mom. She is always starting new shoots from the original old plant.

      I don’t decorate my home for the holidays. Instead, I just decorate my blog header. Turkey day is coming soon here in the States.

  3. Hi Jill,
    Those mums have cool looking blooms. Our nasturtiums were knocked out by the early freezing temps. My ‘Naomi’ holiday cactus is full of blooms and buds, too.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Sue, I like the blooms as well. This particular mum hasn’t been very impressive until this year. This fall, it has been just about perfect!

  4. RobinL says:

    Your November blooms are lovely, especially the nasturtiums. I haven’t grown them for years. I wonder what variety would be best?

  5. Betty Eshenour says:

    What is the name of that mum? It’s beautiful! Never tried to grow a Christmas cactus..can I buy these in a nursery or must plant from seeds? If you ever take cuttings from that mum, I’d be glad to pay you for shipping costs.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Betty, I believe that this kind of mum is called a quill mum because the blossoms are rolled into little quills. The great thing about christmas cactus is that they are easy to grow and you can buy them anywhere. Even the grocery stores that have a little plant and flower section usually carries these lovely plants. I’ve rooted christmas cactus from cuttings but have never tried it with mums.

Leave a Reply

