Photoblitz!

Weather report: It’s amazing how different everything looks after a good night’s sleep, facing two whole days without work, and seeing the sun instead of another day of rain.

Despite the sun, the high’s today will only be in the mid 50’s with a chance of frost tonight. Clear skies means cold nights.

Last month I spent the whole day at our local nature center participating in Bioblitz . One of the programs offered was Photoblitz, a photo competition where participants used the nature center as the subject. I thought it would be fun to participate. I took pictures from 7:00 in the morning to 10:00 at night. I had a blast! Of all the 100s of photos that I took that day, I had seven that I thought were the best. It was very difficult to narrow it down to the 2 I was allowed to enter.

Here are the seven that I liked the best. Be sure to click on the photo to get a clearer view.

P9110004

seeing the steam rise from the river – 7:30am

P9110031

mushrooms growing from the root system of a downed tree, looking like a fairy highrise.

P9110058

The sun burns away the morning fog – 9:00am

P9110066

A pastoral scene on the trail

P9110093

A garden spider covered in dew

P9120180

Goldenrod in the Tall Prairie grasses – 5:00pm

P9120226

spider web in the evening sun – 7:45 pm

Can you guess which two I ended up entering into the competition?

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in ecology, insects, Michigan, nature, photos, weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photoblitz!

  1. Tatyana says:

    Fantastic pictures! The first one is my favorite (if you twist my hands). I love them all!

  2. rosey pollen says:

    These are all great… I can see why it would be hard to pick a fave! The spider gave me the willies…sheesh, could it look any bigger on my computer screen? I am blaming you for the nightmares I have tonight. 🙂
    Rosey

  3. What great images you have taken – I find it hard to choose – probably the first and the last – I like the angle of the spiders web
    K

  4. Sue says:

    Wow, what a hard decision! I’m thinking the 4th and the last one. That is a beautiful place.

  5. RobinL says:

    My favorites are the rainbow spider web and the fairy highrise!

  6. vickie says:

    Even though I don’t want to admit it the spider one has to be the best.

  7. jellyfishbay says:

    I really loved all these photos and as I said, it was very difficult making a choice. I had a professional photo lab process each as an 8×10 so I could see how they looked outside of the computer. The first photo with the steam rising from the river came out slightly out of focus. Even though I think it is probably just the fog misting everything up, I took it from the line-up. The spider-web – though it’s my personal favorite, just didn’t come across as special enough when seen in print. The bee- well, I’ve taken several bee photos and even though it looked amazing as an 8×10 I thought that perhaps the subject was overdone.
    Everyone I polled at the time loved the spider. In the printed picture she is beautiful and the dew glistens in big drops. So I chose the spider and decided to counter it with one of the scenery pieces. After much discussion, I finally picked the pastoral scene. It looks fantastic as an 8×10 photo, the little picture here doesn’t do it justice.
    There were a lot of participants in this competition; professionals as well as amateurs so I’m not sure of my chances for winning. Still, I’m pretty proud of what I did and am ready for more. I should find out the winners sometime this week. Keep your fingers crossed.

  8. Catherine says:

    They really all are beautiful. That sounds like it must’ve been a great way to spend the day.

Leave a Reply

