Setting the Pace

P9210286

Foggy Morning in the City

I woke this morning to a moist fog.

No bright colors, no bustling traffic; just a cool, grey, quiet street.

I currently serve on the board for a large nonprofit organization. When I was first asked to serve, my initial response was, “I’m not rich and I have no status, are you sure you want me?” The nominating committee member assured me that they were also looking for people who would be willing to work. So I agreed to serve.

One of the jobs required of a board member is to raise funds for the organization. Those that are rich can write a check and those with status can ask their rich friends to write a check. I have to be more creative, because I can’t afford to write a check and my friends, like me, haven’t got large sums of money to give away.

Last night I came up with THE IDEA! I knew what I could do. In part, the idea came from the fact that I spend my vacations hiking woodland trails all over Southwest Michigan and in part, from Elizabeth who documented her 182 walk across Wales on her blog, Welsh Hills Again . I can’t manage 182 miles, but I could walk 40 miles of the Kal-Haven Trail, Kalamazoo River Trailway and Portage Creek Bicentennial Trail. This is something I’ve always wanted to do anyway and if I plan the hike for October, the scenery should be beautiful. I should be able to raise a lot of pledge money for the organization, and have fun at the same time.

This weekend I will scope out the trailheads, possible roadblocks and I will need to find lodging in the small towns where I will be spending the night. I need to find a hiking partner (for safety), arrange for the week off from work, get someone to act as a check-in person, as well as to drop off and pick us up at either end of  the trail.

Then, I’ll have 4 weeks to get back in shape.

I love adventures.

P9210287

Black Walnut in the Morning Fog

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, community, goals, Michigan, nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Setting the Pace

  1. Joy says:

    Jill girl ! I love those foggy pictures : )
    You have thought of a very practical inventive idea to raise money ! .. plus .. it is something you love to do , in the time of the year when it will be simply gorgeous : ) .. I envy you that beautiful hike and I wish you great success with it all .. that was one brilliant idea : )
    Joy

  2. marydelle says:

    What a fun adventure! And how creative of you to think of a way to support your organization.

  3. Catherine says:

    That sounds like a great adventure! I hope you are able to raise lots of money too.

  4. Lovely images.

    Good luck with you walk – It sounds a marvelous thing to do.
    K

  5. You Rock! Love the idea…the non profit is lucky to have someone like you on board! Kim

Leave a Reply

