Garden Bloggers Bloom Day September 2009

It’s pretty late in the evening, but I’ll try to finish my post in time for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day, hosted by Carol of May Dreams Gardens.

I have to admire the longevity of these flowers. Some have been in bloom since July.

P9140262

My Stokes Aster showed up in July’s GBBD and has been blooming ever since.

P9140258

P9140260

The Phlox has more bare spots but is still looking good.

P9140261 P9140239

Though most of my Rudbeckia and Goldenrod are looking battered and are turning brown, a few are still showing their gold.

P9140240 P9140243

The morning glories will just keep blooming until frost.

P9140244

I don’t usually see a lot of green bottle flies around the house or the garden.

Sure signs of autumn in the garden.

P9140233

Asters, asters and more asters such as the little wild asters…

P9140247

my hybridized purple asters…

P9140248

and the hot pink ones that haven’t quite bloomed, yet.

P9140242

my garlic chives are very popular.

P9140251

P9140254

My silverlace vine didn’t get chomped on this year. In fact, I saw very little evidence of the Japanese Beetle devastation.

P9140255

A very lovely Toad Lily and my first for the season.

P9140234

Everyone’s favorite autumn flower, Sedum “Autumn Joy”.

P9140230

P9140235 P9140236

Right now, this is the best container planting I have, made up of a simple combination of geraniums, nasturtiums and a variegated leaf pineapple mint. For those that enjoy making do, the container is made of the lid of a gas grill and it rests on a fish aquarium stand. I added the sign for a little character and voila’! A planter!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, container gardening, flowers, gardening, insects, photos, summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day September 2009

  1. RobinL says:

    I’ve seen quite a few bloggers say that they didn’t see many Japanese beetles this year. That’s because they were all here in my garden! This is the worst year I’ve seen, and no, we don’t have grubs in our lawn. *sigh* One day I counted almost 100 that I happily drowned in my cup of soapy water. I’ve been eyeing a Stoke’s Aster, and knowing that it’s a long term bloomer just moved it up higher on my want list.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I’m so sorry to hear about the Japanese beetles in your garden; I’ve fought a long, hard battle with them and am glad they’re giving me a year off.
      I actually bought the Stokes aster in July and it was blooming when I got it, so I’m hoping it will start blooming even earlier next year.

  2. Sue says:

    I love your grill lid garden! Nasturtiums are cool, but some years they do better than others in my yard. Your other blooms are lovely, too.

    There was something else I was going to comment on, but can’t remember now. I’m reading in blotanical, so can’t go back to look again. I hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Sue, I should have known that you would appreciate my recycling – you’ve got old washers that double as plant containers. I just need to think bigger.

  3. Sue says:

    I came back after going back to the other posts. I was going to say my Stokes asters don’t often rebloom, and have been finished a number of weeks. Do you get yours deadheaded right away? Maybe I don’t get it done quickly enough to get more blooms.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      You know, this is my first Stokes aster and so, not knowing much about the plant, I decided to just let it go to seed and didn’t deadhead at all. I’ll have to keep an eye on it next year to see if it continues blooming as it did this year.

Leave a Reply

