Digging up the Spiderwort

 

P5251144

I’m having a problem with my Tradescantia. I love it while it’s in bloom in June and hate it the rest of the year.  Since the leaves have a grass-like quality it’s difficult to weed in the spring so I end up with a lot of  grass growing in with the plants. After they are done blooming, the plants tend to flatten out leaving a messy, unattractive patch. 

So today I dug up most of the patch, cleaned out the roots, added some fresh composted soil and replanted my new echinacea; Tomato Soup, Mac and Cheese and Green Eyes. I still need to clean up the rest of the garden patch, but I’ll leave a small bit of spiderwort to rebloom next year.

P5251142

It is pretty when it is blooming.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Digging up the Spiderwort

  1. Stephanie says:

    I so agree. I’ve learned, though, that I can pull them up or cut them down and they always come back. This year I’m moving them back behind other plants to disguise their messiness. One popped up behind my purple iris and variegated solomon’s seal and looked really great there, so thought I’d go with it. Also trying them behind tall phlox. Another thing I’m going to try next year, is to cut them back before they bloom. I saw some short ones the other day, and they look much better that way.

Leave a Reply

