BioBlitz!

Bioblitz15050th

 Saturday is BioBlitz day at our local Nature Center. A whole day is planned, from 6:30 am to 9:00pm, filled with programs, hikes, bird tagging, talks with scientists and I will be there!  

Here’s what they have to say:

BioBlitz aims to educate the public about the biodiversity in their own backyard, provide people the opportunity to interact with well-known scientists, excite the public about the amazing work that scientists do everyday, and generate a list of species found on the Nature Center property. 

Highlights will include LIVE animal presentations by the Organization for Bat Conservation, Michigan State University, and a visit from the Kalamazoo Nature Center’s Bird of Prey team.   There will also be many opportunities to join a wide range of presenters who will share their work on topics such as monarch butterflies, reptile and amphibians, and much, much more!

Doesn’t that sound great? The weather is supposed to be partly cloudy, with highs in the mid 70’s (F) and lows in the 50’s. No rain.

I need to begin planning what to bring, ’cause it will be a long day and I will not stay up until 3 0r 4 am on Friday pulling everything together.

Things to do:

  • download all my photos and clean out my memory card. Recharge  the batteries. I plan on taking lots of photos for the all-day event and don’t want any snafus.
  • speaking of batteries, I’d better replace the batteries in my flashlight.
  • find my binoculars.
  • find my magnifying glass.
  • pack some food and drink for the day: cheese, crackers and fruit that packs easily and are good for nibbling throughout the day.
  • wear a comfortable bra (as I said, it’s going to be a long day)
  • wear my old hiking shoes, not the new ones, it’s the wrong time to break in the new ones.
  • a 2nd pair of shoes in case my feet need a change.
  • first aid kit (it’s the Girl Scout in me – Be Prepared)
  • bug spray (I’ve heard of moist wipes that deter bugs, does anyone know how well they work?)
  • a hat – the ugly one with the air vents. It’s my favorite.
  • hair ties – I don’t want my hair flopping about in my face.

That’s a lot of stuff, I’d better get started!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in community, ecology, lists, nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

