Close Encounters of the Hummer Kind

Weather Report: While July was warm and very dry, we’re now moving into a cool, wet period. Rain every night and into the next morning; stopping by noon and early evening, then starting over.  Mildew and slugs are popping up everywhere.

Local Radar

After trying all summer, I finally captured some shots of the elusive hummingbirds at the feeder. In fact, they were feeling pretty feisty.

I was just topping off the tube bird feeder with some sunflower seeds when I heard a bird’s fluttering wings. I turned, thinking it was one of the fearless chickadees, impatient for their food, but saw instead a hummingbird just a few feet away at the feeder, pretty much ignoring me.  I ran for my camera and was able to get a few pictures.

P8230615

I was close enough to hear the soft peeping that they make. I had no idea that hummingbirds made any kind of sound at all.

P8230616

The only mid-flight photo that came out at all. Those birds are quick!

P8230617

This is a female Ruby-Throated Hummingbird. Only the males have a red throat. Why is it in bird-land the males have the bright plumage while the females are the plain-janes?

 P8230618

This little lady kept leaving the feeder to chase off another hummer. They are very territorial. Luckily, the neighbors also have a feeder so everyone stays happy…and fed.

I’m still trying to capture a mid-flight photo, but will they let me get that close again?

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in birds, nature, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Close Encounters of the Hummer Kind

  1. Catherine says:

    Great pictures. How lucky she waited while you got your camera! I love that little peeping sound they make, that’s usually how I know they are around.

Leave a Reply

