Wild Kingdom

I’m fascinated by critters of all kinds. I’m always trying to capture photos of them….

So welcome to “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom”!

Four-Footed Critters

P6121424 P6121425

One evening, while visiting with the gatekeeper of the local nature center, one of her little friends came by looking for a handout. He was just quivering with excitement.

P6121390 

At the pond, during a hike I saw a mound of grass, moving along at a pace I thought a bit suspect. For grass anyway.

P6121392

Hiding along the shore, I discovered that the mound of grass was a muskrat looking for soft grasses to make a bed, probably for baby muskrats.

P7091760 

This bunny visits my house regularly, despite the fact that I live in the city. He seems unconcerned by the traffic that passes by or by the neighbor’s dogs. 

For The Birds

P6211509 P7190256

There’s all sorts of wildlife at my mother’s house in the country. We have a rafter of turkeys (that’s another name for a flock) that stops by the birdfeeder regularly for leftover sunflower seeds. They seem to have excellent eyesight and very good hearing because I have a difficult time getting close enough for a good shot.  In the summer we have 13-15 of them including babies, in the winter we may get as many as 30.

P6141483 

On a visit to Mom’s house this spring I noticed this cardinal being unusually bold. Cardinals are normally pretty shy.

P6141482 P6141480 

The front door decoration seems to have a present inside.

P6211502

A mere week and a half later, this little one glares at me before taking that first leap into space.

P7130059

Speaking of water fowl…

P7140136 P7140140

Even the birds enjoy a day at the beach!

 P8050429

The bold goldfinches will keep on eating until I’m just a few yards away.

It’s A Bug’s Life

P6121387

A mama spider giving the babies a lift over rough terrain.

 

P7130093

Some days the bees are flighty,  other days they will sit and pose for the camera.

P7130017

Getting butterflies to pose is difficult at best. I got lucky with this Wood Nymph Butterfly. Isn’t that a great name for any critter, especially a butterfly?

P8050420

Often, my butterfly photos come out blurry. I often delete the bad pictures but decided to keep this one, the colors are beautiful and I’m rarely able to capture a shot with their wings open.

Unlike Marlin Perkins, I’ll never wrestle a boa constrictor or capture a crocodile; I will just take notice of the wildlife in my little corner of the world. Since I’ve devoted this posting to all things furry, fuzzy and flying, I think I’ll pay a visit to Camera Critters and look at what other wildlife I can see.

If you want a clearer view, just click on the pictures.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in birds, butterflies, ecology, nature, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wild Kingdom

  1. Nancy Bond says:

    That’s quite a menagerie! 🙂 Great photos.

  2. Sue says:

    I remember that show! It’s not still on, is it? Well, I enjoyed your version. Great photos!

  3. Teresa says:

    Great pictures and great animals. You certainly get a lot of creatures around your house. what fun!

Leave a Reply

