Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2009

Weather report: We’ve been having steamy warm week, sunny with no rain highs in the upper 80’s. In other words, your typical Michigan summer. 

Saturdays are usually spent at my butterfly/hummingbird garden at the library so all the photos I took for Bloom Day are from there. The garden, being a prairie garden, is at it’s peak right now.

Take a look; close….closer….and closer yet!

P8150525 P8150527

P8150528

Sneezeweed (Helenium)

P8150519 closer view 1

closer view 3

Purple Coneflower (Echinacea purpurea)

P8150520 P8150523

P8150522

Perennial Sunflower (Helianthus)

From buds…..(morning glories)

P8150537

to seed pods…. (butterfly weed)

P8150542

I’ll grow anything that will attract the butterflies and hummingbirds, from hybrids to wildflowers.

P8150514  P8150539

Phlox (bright eyes, I think) and Queen Anne’s Lace

There’s lots more, but I thought that I’d keep it short and sweet today. For more Bloom Day posts, be sure to visit Carol at MayDreams Gardens

Be sure to click on the photos for a clearer view.

 

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, butterflies, flowers, gardening, photos, summer, wildflowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2009

  1. donna says:

    I also have Sneezeweed, orange and yellow. I never see it mentioned on other blogs. The rabbits enjoyed it immensely this summer. I also haveButterfly Weed planted in the same bed as my sneezeweed. What I do NOT have is your fabulous camera and photography skills. Very nice post.

  2. Helenium is one of my faves! I love the painted-on colors. Your photos are gorgeous!

  3. Diane says:

    Oh my gosh, the colors just leap off the screen! Beautiful! Seems like everyone has helenium except me, and I don’t know what I’ve been waiting for. Next year!

  4. Lovely bloom day post – I love the picture of the morning glory in bud. Sneezeweed (Helenium) is on my shopping list!
    K

  5. Cathy says:

    Great blooms and photos, such nice colors of summer.
    Happy GBBD!

    -Cathy

  6. Tabib says:

    Beautiful macro photos

  7. Jennifer Butler Basile says:

    Your photos are so striking – especially the morning glory bud. Gorgeous. And I’m learning all about butterfly weed lately so I love the one of the seed pods!

Leave a Reply

