Garden Bloggers Bloom Day July 2009

Ladies and Gentlemen; Gardeners of all ages! It’s time again for the Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day. Carol at May Dreams Gardens hosts this remarkable  extravaganza each month.

This month, I am showing off a mostly pink garden. I don’t plan it that way, I just seem to be attracted to pink and purple flowers. In the autumn, the palette shifts to yellows and golds. But right now, I’m in the pink!

On with the show!

P7140155

Cooper’s Ice Plant, one of my new acquisitions. 

P7140157

One of your common, roadside-type day lilies. They were here when I moved in 15 years ago, and no matter how hard I try, they’ll still be here when I go.

P7130094 

P7121779 

The coneflowers have just begun to bloom. The first photo is of the everyday, ordinary variety, the lower picture is one of the newer hybrids, “Fatal Attraction”.

P7130109 

P7130108 

Some of the hostas are blooming as well. Most of mine came from my sister before she moved to Florida so I have no idea what varieties I have. The one above has very attractive green and white foliage that you can kind of see in the background.

P7130082 

P7130083

These flowers look exactly like the ones above, except that they are about half the size; one of the miniature hostas.

P7130079 

This is from one of my new hostas, called “Stained Glass”. The bloom is set into the leaf and does not have a stem. I’m not sure if it’s a fluke or if it’s supposed to bloom in this manner.

P7130092

A banner year for my phlox.

P7121776 

My Stokes Aster has begun to bloom. In fact, all my new purchases from this year are really looking good.

P7121782 

The purple monarda, or bee balm has begun blooming early this year. It usually blooms at the same time as the white monarda, woolly apple mint and rudbeckia in my center garden bed.

P7041729

Once the sweet peas start, they just keep blooming until the first frost in October.

  P7121775  P7130095 

I really love my balloon flowers (Platycodon). They are so well-behaved, clumping nicely and never over running any of the other flowers.

P7130080

A real miracle. I bought this hydrangea about 10-11 years ago, back when I knew nothing about gardening. It was of the variety that blooms on old wood, but Michigan winters are severe enough that it would always die back and never bloom. EVER. This year, for the first time, I have blooms! Astounding!

P7140158

Another surprise came this morning when I was adding a little water to my terrarium. My little mini-bromeliad was blooming. The flowers are only about an inch long but very pretty. This is a huge achievement for me, since I usually kill off houseplants, not encourage them to bloom.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, flowers, gardening, photos, summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day July 2009

  1. paramountplaces says:

    beautiful flowers , and nice photography , i like it , keep it up .

  2. Cathy says:

    Just Beautiful! love the sweet peas,
    Happy GBBD!

  3. Catherine says:

    They are all beautiful, but I just love the soft pink Sweet pea!

  4. rosemarie says:

    Really lovely photos! And there’s never anything wrong with pink 😉

  5. Ohhh how I adore pink…especially if it is in the form of a sweet pea! What gorgeous flowers you have, Kim

  6. joey says:

    Enjoyed the tour of your lovely garden. So fun to meet another gardener from our lovely state 🙂

  7. Sue says:

    What lovely blooms! I love my Stoke’s asters and sweet peas, too.

Leave a Reply

