In Search of Pocket Gardens – Saugatuck

 I live in the city, and work in the city. Most folks think of “city” as high rise skyscrapers and lots of cement. Cities come in all shapes and sizes. I became interested in  pocket gardens when visiting the town of Saugatuck on the 4th of July. There are no tall buildings, no skyscrapers but tiny cottages turned shops huddled side by side, just a few feet from the public sidewalks and main street. Still, the citizens have carved out little pocket gardens with the space they have.  My only regret is, in my effort to get photos of the gardens, I forgot the establishing shots, showing the gardens in context to the buildings.

This is only the first stop. As I discover other pocket gardens, I will continue to post my findings. I’ve already found a few in my town.  

 P7041719  

Creating an oasis in an upstairs apartment.

P7041647 

P7041648 

This patio garden used to be a driveway. The owners of the shop display garden sculptures and one-of-a-kind garden seating.

P7041643 

P7041645

A private home in the midst of art galleries and craft-oriented shops. The depth of this front yard is only about 8 to 10feet, yet it is stuffed full of flowers and even a small water feature (which I forgot to get). Cottages and cottage gardens go together like tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.

P7041641

The shop was full of framed art and small blown glass creations, while the small backyard had been turned into a garden displaying outdoor art and garden pieces.

P7041723 

This was originally an empty lot. A local couple bought it and created this rose and sculpture garden for the town. It is a tiny garden, but really beautiful.

P7041630

I haven’t a clue how many roses were in this little garden, but they were all so breathtaking. My favorite sculpture is on the left.

P7041633 

Winding  paths and tiny trails make the garden seem much bigger.

P7041636

Mixing perennials and annuals with the roses. 

P7041634 

P7041635

I don’t really consider myself a rose gardener, but I have a soft spot for the varieties that show off multiple colors, especially this orange and yellow one.

Remember, you can click on any photo to get a clearer view.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in community, gardening, gardens, summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

