Invasion of the Slugs

P6111370

I’ve always had slugs in my garden, but never very many, or at least, controllable. I would wear my old sneakers with no treads and take great satisfaction in the violent approach to pest control. Yeah, you know what that means.

I’ve been enjoying our (for the most part) cool, moist spring. We’ve had a few days in the 80’s (F) but lately the weather has been in the 60’s and low 70’s during the day and down in the 50’s in the evenings. Many rainy days and nights has made a lush, green garden and some of the biggest blooms I have ever seen on my flowers.

 P6071326 P6051262

I came home this evening, after a rainy day and had to set up both of my birdbaths that had been knocked down overnight, probably from a thirsty raccoon trying to get a drink of water.

P6101358 P6101359

The bench next to the birdbath is beginning to grow moss and as I checked it out—-Yuck! Slugs! Not just a couple but really a lot! It is a slug population explosion. Instead of hiding under rocks they are right out in the open. They just know that I’m outnumbered. I looked around. They are everywhere! Stomping on them just will not cut it. I am going to have to break out the beer!

P6111369

P6111367

P6111365

P6111360

P6111368

Hopefully, the thirsty raccoon won’t be in a party mood and the slugs are ready for a happy death.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, humor, nature, photos, spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Invasion of the Slugs

  1. bangchik says:

    So many of them…… quite a sight, almost scarry!!

    ~ bangchik

  2. Joy says:

    OMG Jill !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I would be crazy with so many of those slimely things taking over .. you got some great pictures though ! .. too bad you could get the birds to drop in for the huge buffet and eat all of them .. at least that way it would go to a good cause ?? LOL
    All I can say is EEEUUUUWWWWW!!!!!!!!

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    It’s like a train wreck. You don’t want to look, but you just can’t look away. I had to make a beer run last night so I can set up the slug traps tonight. I refuse to concede defeat.

  4. urgh, yuck, yuck, yuck
    We are having a bad year for slugs too – they have devastated my lettuce 😦
    K

Leave a Reply

