Wordless Wednesday 6/10/09

Hydrangea Vines and Peonies

P6051261

P6051262

P6051264

P6051270

P6051271

P6051267

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardens, photos, Seasonal, summer, wordless wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wordless Wednesday 6/10/09

  1. Tom says:

    Oh wow! That hydrangea is gorgeous. I planted one a couple weeks ago where it has the potential to reach 40′ at least. I’ve heard it can take years to settle in and bloom. Is that your experience?

  2. lynn says:

    Just stunning these close-ups! Is your hydrangea climbing an arbor? I have one going up a trellis built near the house but the hydrangea attached itself to the house so I had to hack it back…be careful they are dangerous that way! Great shot of the spider in the peony 🙂
    Lynn

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    Tom – the hydrangea is about 9 or 10 years old and I’ve never seen it bloom so beautifully as it is right now. It is a slow a starter and it didn’t bloom for me until at least the third or fourth year but each year has been bigger and more beautiful than the year before. I didn’t keep records of when flowers bloomed then, so I’m kinda of making an estimated guess. The one bad thing is that Japanese Beetles seem to like the leaves and the plant is too tall for me to keep them under control.

    Lynn – yes, my vine is growing up and over an inexpensive wooden arbor which is now falling apart. (You can see a slat on the ground in the first photo.) Last week I found a replacement metal arbor at an antiques fair. Now I just have to figure out how to remove the old one and get the new one in place without messing up the plant.

Leave a Reply

