Propagating Old Roses, part 1

P6051296

Jeanne LaJoie

I have been known as The Lazy Gardener. In fact I used to go by that handle in a former blog. I haven’t really gotten into growing roses because I’d rather not deal with all the fuss. Right now, I have 3 different types of roses growing in my garden: a rugosa rose – it looks like a double petaled variety; a beautiful David Austin English rose called “Othello”, and a miniature climber called “Jeanne LaJoie”. Believe it or not, I do not cover them up during our cold Michigan winters, I don’t spray them for black spot, I only really prune the dead limbs off and I rarely feed them. In other words, I pretty much ignore them. Yet every year they come back and bloom for me.  

P6071328

Rugosa Rosa

This evening, as I slowly drove through my neighborhood and past one of the oldest cemeteries in town I was hit with an incredibly sweet scent. At a nearby stop sign, I looked around, trying to figure out where the perfume was coming from. All I could see was an old rose growing up on the hill at an old gravestone. It was yards away, but I could easily smell the sweet fragrance and see the bush full of pink blooms.

If this rose can thrive on an exposed hillside through harsh Michigan winters and the heat of July, it belongs in my little garden. I’ll be climbing that hill tomorrow to get some cuttings. I’ve always wanted to try propagating roses using the old mason jar technique and now I found a rose that I wanted enough to attempt it.

I’ll go through the steps in part 2 of this posting.

I’ve never done this before, so any suggestions or tips are welcome. Wish me luck.

Addendum: Okay, I found this allium blooming in my garden yesterday. I really do not recall planting it at all. I must be getting old…. What kind is it?

P6051275 P6051274

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, Michigan, plants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Propagating Old Roses, part 1

  1. RobinL says:

    I’ve tried the Mason jar method about five or six times, and have only been successful once. But I do want to try again! This is what I remember. Take your cutting from the tallest part of the rose, strip most of the leaves, dip it in rooting hormone, stick it in the ground, put the jar over it, and wait till you see new growth appear. Is that what you’ve heard?

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    That’s what I heard as well. I think I’m going to try growing some inside using zip loc bags and some outside. I have always enjoyed science experiments.

  3. I too am a lazy gardener…I don’t do much in the way of propagating because all it takes is to be away for a day or two and things dry out…hubby is a great guy but he doesn’t do watering awfully well.

Leave a Reply

