The Flowers of June

 Happy June 1st!

 P5251122

March went out like a lion
A whippin up the water in the bay
Then April cried and stepped aside,
And along come pretty little May!
May was full of promises
But she didn’t keep ’em quickly enough for some
And a crowd of doubtin’ Thomas’s
Was predictin’ that the summer’d never come

But it’s comin’ by dawn,
We can feel it come,
You can feel it in your heart
You can see it in the ground
You can see it in the trees
You can smell it in the breeze

June is bustin’ out all over
All over the meadow and the hill!
Buds’re bustin’ outa bushes
And the rompin’ river pushes
Ev’ry little wheel that wheels beside the mill!

From the musical Carousel by Rodgers and Hammerstein

For me, when I think of June I think of wild lupines and daisies. There are lots of flowers that bloom in June, but these two, especially, stand out in my mind.

P5251123 

P5301170

Growing up in the country meant walking a quarter of a mile down a dirt road through the open fields and pine tree groves to the bus stop in order to get to and from school. I have memories of walking, skipping, running home on the last day of school in June, wading through the blue field of lupines to get there. I would usually pick a bouquet of the flowers for Mom, because it was also her last day of teaching and lupines were one of her favorite flowers. The last day of school = lupines in my mind.

When I was in 10th grade, our Girl Scout troop took a week-long trip to Washington DC. We had saved up for three years in order to rent a bus and see the sights. It was a wonderful trip. When we got back, Mom picked me up from the leader’s house and on the way home, she said that brother Dave and his girlfriend Leena were getting married THAT DAY in the backyard. Apparently, they made the announcement to the family a week earlier, right after I left on my trip.

It was a real hippie wedding. Dave had white jeans and a flowered shirt and Leena had a long sundress and bare feet. My little sister and I were sent over to the neighbor’s field to pick buckets of daisies so we would have flowers for the wedding. It was a small gathering of friends and family and even the dog (who was too smart for her own good) escaped from the house and wandered around visiting each guest. I actually remember being somewhat upset. It meant that my brother was leaving home and I had had no time to adjust to the idea. Still, it was the kind of a wedding you would never forget.  A special wedding = daisies.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, family, flowers, Michigan, school, wildflowers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Flowers of June

  1. Catherine says:

    I love both the lupines and daisies. I enjoyed your stories. It’s nice when special memories are associated with different flowers.

  2. lynn says:

    I have a plant called baptisia and the blooms look very much like the blue lupines. Also the daisies are a favorite of mine, too! I love how a certain flower connects to a special memory! Thanks for sharing.
    Lynn

  3. jeelago says:

    awwwww, those are some sweet memories of the wedding ;~j I didn’t realize it was *so* last minute! So cool to hear your perspective!

    The story came down to us that Daddy-O wasnt wearing just any jeans, but white, suede (in summer??), hip-hugger bell-bottoms! and the shirt was a Peter Max print.

  4. jellyfishbay says:

    Jeela, You know, everyone wore hip-hugger bell-bottoms in 1970. Just not usually at weddings. I don’t remember the pants being suede, but Dave would know….it was a warm summer day.

Leave a Reply

