Doing the Chores

Weather Report: We had a little rain very early Saturday morning, then hot and humid the rest of the holiday weekend. I was beginning to worry about the garden getting too dry when it finally started pouring rain Tuesday evening,and on and off all day Wednesday. Hot and steamy. My irises popped open as well as my new poppy. It finally cooled down today to the lower 60’s (F). now it feels too chilly. I’m having a difficult time dressing for the weather. I’m either too hot or too cold.

The holiday weekend was a weekend to be out of doors and in the garden. I had my list of things to do, and despite the heat, I was able to get at least some of it done. Don’t forget to click on the photos to get a closer view.

  • buy 4 bags of composted manure and fertilizer for the rainbow garden 
  • finish planting rainbow garden
  • set up sprinkler system at the library

P5170418 Done, done and done

  • work on edging around all garden beds
  • water garden beds
  • weed, weed, weed

Since it rained, I was able to forgo the watering, but I didn’t get to weed or work on the edging. It will go on next weekend’s list.

  • a visit to my favorite greenhouse to purchase my container plants and peruse the perennials

P5251131 P5251132 P5251133

Of course, I wouldn’t let this “chore” go by. I also bought a flat of impatiens for my shade containers. Tomorrow is container-planting day!Done!

  • plant my forced bulbs in the garden
  • string on my freestanding trellis to train the morning glories
  • plant sunflower seeds

done. Well, almost done.

  • a visit and a nice hike to the local nature center

P5241086 P5251093 P5251091 P5251094 P5251095 P5251096 P5251101 P5251113 P5251116

It was so nice, I went twice.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, nature, spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing the Chores

  1. Sue says:

    Our weather is doing the same thing. My lettuce and I could use some highs in the 70s.

    Your flower photos are lovely!

  2. Sue says:

    Oh, and your rainbow garden turned out great!

Leave a Reply

