Gardening Holiday

P5201067

The holiday weekend looms ahead of me. The weather should be perfect… highs in the upper 70’s (F), partly sunny. The only downside is that we haven’t had any rain in about a week and the gardens are a little dry. I always plan the Memorial Day weekend as my “gardening holiday”. Every day is spent outdoors gardening. It’s my idea of a great time.

I left work early Friday to get started by mowing the lawn. Now that this chore is out of the way, I can concentrate on the fun stuff.

Here is my list:

  • buy 4 bags of composted manure and fertilizer for the rainbow garden 
  • finish planting rainbow garden
  • set up sprinkler system at the library
  • work on edging around all garden beds
  • water garden beds
  • weed, weed, weed
  • a visit to my favorite greenhouse to purchase my container plants and peruse the perennials
  • plant my forced bulbs in the garden
  • string on my freestanding trellis to train the morning glories
  • plant sunflower seeds
  • a visit and a nice hike to the local nature center

Does this seem too much for one 3 day weekend? Maybe it is, but I really restrained myself. I could have created a much longer list.

Have a lovely holiday!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, gardens, lists, spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gardening Holiday

  1. Cathy says:

    Busy, Busy little bee! Have fun and a great Memorial
    day!

  2. Sue says:

    Well, with a list, you can make good use of your time, and be efficient. That’s if you can stick to it and not get sidetracked like I tend to do. Have a great Monday!

  3. RainGardener says:

    That’s some list ya got there – hope ya got it all done. I, too, tend to get sidetracked. Start on one thing, see something else start on it and so on. I do the same thing inside. Hmmmmm
    I know your post was 3 days ago but I’ve spent the weekend with a flu or cold or both so I have accomplished very little.
    Hope your weekend went well and you got alot accomplished! Linda

  4. lynn says:

    Hi, hope you were able to cross off everything on your to-do list. Of course, when you start in one area, you get sidetracked and find something else to do..lol.
    WOW! That begonnia peacock is amazing!! And so interesting how it was done..they made it look easy!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

