A Little Something Just for Me

I live in an old neighborhood with a lot of old maples lining the streets and black walnut trees in my neighbors yard behind my property. I’m constantly picking up downed branches and tree limbs during any high wind or storm that comes along.  Over the past year and a half, I’ve built up quite a brush pile.

P3060381

My brush pile. 

Now, the city will pick up brush if the branches are cut up 2 feet or shorter and less than 2 inches in diameter. It took me forever to cut and bundle the branches so I decided that I needed a different solution. I went online to conduct a search.

Today, my new firepit arrived! It’s more practical than pretty. Our city ordinance prohibits open fires but because this container has a lid I can use it to burn all the brush I’ve accumulated. I plan on trying it out this weekend. Better stock up on marshmallows, Hershey bars and graham crackers as well!

P5110972

The new fire pit. I still need to put down a layer of sand to help distribute the heat.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Something Just for Me

  1. cherry says:

    I have been looking at fire pits, hope you enjoy it.

  2. Cathy says:

    I have one too, and we use it often when we have company over near the evening time. Hope you enjoy it!

  3. jeela says:

    Hey, looks pretty cool actually, what a great idea!

    Can visit your house when we come in July??

    :~j

Leave a Reply

