April Showers

Weather report: As the title suggests, we’ve had a lot of rain in the last few days. Sunday stayed fairly dry until evening and today looked promising with a lovely sunny morning. The wind picked up considerably by noon, blowing in a new front and more rain this afternoon and evening. The temperature is supposed to cool down with highs in the low 60’s and lows back in the 40’s (F).

I spent Sunday at Mom’s house doing a few spring chores and cleaning. I love being out in the country whenever I can. The spring peepers and frogs down by the lake were croaking and peeping full force, and the birds were singing, and chirping and making all sorts of noise. Who says it’s quiet in the country?

I turned on the water to the outdoor faucets, set up the summer birdbaths and put away the winter heated one.  We heard that hummingbirds were sighted a few counties away so we set up the hummingbird feeder as well.

I had barely left the backyard, when the birds jumped in the water for a bath. First a robin, then cardinal and a sparrow then….Oh Boy, our first sighting of a male rose-breasted grosbeak! It’s always so exciting when we see them. Mom looked it up in her journal and noticed that they are about 2 weeks earlier this year than last year. Unfortunately, I had left my camera in the car.

I grabbed the camera just in time from a first time visit of Mr. and Mrs. Mallard. I can only guess that they had visited our neighbor’s pond and were now taking a leisurely stroll back down to the lake.

 p42608382 p42608391

The Mr. was much shyer than the Mrs.

The pear tree was in full bloom and the old serviceberry tree was just about to pop open with lovely little white flowers. I hope it will still be in bloom when I stop over next weekend.

p4260830

Since it is always cooler in the country than in the city, the trees hadn’t begun leafing out there, but I enjoyed seeing a soft green haze on my way home. It’s amazing how a couple of days of rain helps some plants bud and flowers burst open in delight, and wipes out and beats down others.

The younger trees are a beautiful chartreuse color as the baby leaves first appear. The older ones are slower to bud. Hmmm, I can relate to that.

p4260843 p42608425

The early daffodils appear to be melting, or bent over and even my precious thalia is drooping (they’ve only opened in the last few days.)

 p42708482 p4270851

The hyacinths lay dejected on the ground, yet, my pansies are perking and the bleeding hearts are just beginning to show off. The tulips have been lured out of hiding by the unseasonably warm weather but today they are closed up tight against the rain. Open or closed, they still look very pretty.

p4270847

p4270849 p4270857

p4270864

be sure to double click on the pictures if you want a closer view

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Showers

  1. Diane says:

    Your daffodils and hyacinths look like how I feel. I know the rain is important but I wish it would ease up just a bit!

Leave a Reply

