Mid-spring comes early

Weather Report: We’ve had a heat spurt, getting up to 81 degrees (F) on Friday. I actually had to open a few windows during the night to cool the house. Today was a little cooler and I had every intention of working on my garden chores list. Then the rains came. And really hard.  I’m afraid my more delicate blossoms may fall apart. I’ll find out tomorrow morning.

I was able to take a few pictures before it began to rain. The unseasonally warm weather has made the mid-spring flowers pop. 

p42508182 p42508171

Dogtooth Violet or Trout Lily though it is not a violet or a lily. A delicate woodland native.

p42508131  

The grape hyacinths are out in full force

p42508121

p41707321  p42508091

It works so well when planted with daffodills or alongside pink moss phlox. Unfortunately, I’m always fighting the grass that grows in the phlox.

p42508151

 

A very pretty hosta unfurling its leaves.

 p42508071 p42508061

The first of my tulips.

hmmm. Perhaps spring is far enough along where I can finally clean out the leaf mulch I use for winter protection.

If the rain holds off tomorrow, I’ll be able to get more done.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mid-spring comes early

  1. Cathy says:

    Beautiful! I think you mean grape hyacinths? not
    siberian squill. Well they are all pretty.

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks Cathy. I’ve made the correction. This is what happens when putting together a post at 11:00 at night. Actually, my squill is done blooming.

  3. keewee says:

    Our temps. soared a week ago, then cooled down again. Sheesh! I wish it would settle down.

  4. Sande says:

    Thanks for the visit to my blog. Your spring flower photos are lovely! I have similar flowers in bloom around here right now.

  5. Lola says:

    Hi, I love your pix. I don’t have much blooming now. Roses, 1 iris {my first one} sent to me by brother. I was able to get the bed fixed for my corn & some squash. I’ll plant them on the 29th.
    I also was able to put a couple bags of topsoil in my Flag Pole Garden. I’ve been working on that one for some time. Still not finished.

Leave a Reply

