School’s Out for Summer!

Weather Report:The weather guys are talking about snow tonight, with a low in the mid 30’s (F). The question is, should I bring in my outdoor containers (pansies and sedums) or trust that it won’t get too cold for them to stay outside? Though it may snow tonight, there is talk that we’ll be up to 80 degrees by this weekend. Ah, Spring!

I’m free! I’m free! For better or worse, after 6 years of going to school parttime, I’ve finished my final thesis and, if everything goes well, I’ll have a master’s degree by next week. Glad it is over and now out of the way! I can go back to living like a normal person.

I took a couple of hours off from writing on Saturday to work in the garden. It was just too nice to stay indoors. While cleaning out one of my paths (originally a dog run) I’ve made the decision that I need to overhaul all my garden beds.  I haven’t had much time to work on them in a few years and it shows. As I widened the path I found my original stepping stones. I forgot I had any! After a number of years, they had all been buried by soil and thyme and other growth. I dug them all up, and will reset them all after widening the path to accommodate a person, not just a dog.

 p4170758 p4180768

Do the stepping stones look familiar? One summer I had a run-in with a raccoon who kept pulling down my ceramic bird baths to get to the water. After he broke three, I got smart and went with a plastic bird bath. The broken clay ones got turned into stepping stones and they will again.

p4180764 p4170759

Working on a path                                       Resetting a stepping stone

I have a lot of brick borders that have also been buried and will need digging out. A big summer project to look forward to.

Need a clearer view? A double click on the photos will enlarge them.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, school, spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to School’s Out for Summer!

  1. Cathy says:

    That will be fun…ha ha. Congrats on the Masters!
    I am sure you’ll get it… don’t work too hard.

Leave a Reply

