Toadshade Trillium

p4110696

Postings may be sporadic for the next 2 weeks. I’ve got to complete my final thesis so I can finally get my master’s degree. In the meantime, I hope everyone has a Happy Easter and happy gardening.

Speaking of gardening, in cleaning up one of my beds this afternoon I came across my toadshade trillium plants. I planted these little woodland natives three springs ago. The year I planted them, it was past their growing season, and they were dormant. The following spring, I didn’t see any sign of them at all. Last year I saw three tiny leaves but they quickly disappeared. Now they’ve appeared again, looking stronger and bigger.

p4110727

I suspect that like other woodland natives, it can take 3 to 5 years before the plants become strong enough to bloom.

Toadshade Trillium -(Trillium Sessile )  is a woodland native plant on the threatened species list from the Michigan DNR. I loved the unusual look of the plant with its mottled leaves and purple flower with no stalk and thought it would work well in my shade garden.

 toadshade_trillium 

I ordered 3 plants from a wildflower catalog – they grow the plants from seeds (legal) not digging up endangered plants to sell (illegal). Maybe this will be the year.

p4110697

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, nature, spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toadshade Trillium

  1. nancybond says:

    Happy Easter, Jill! Your trilliums are beautiful — I love native plantings. Good luck with your thesis…I know how stressful that can be. 🙂

  2. Cathy says:

    Happy Easter Jill! Good luck with your thesis!

  3. Sue says:

    Hi Jill,
    I hope your master’s degree work goes smoothly. The picks are working for me now.

  4. Love the toadshade trillium! I have a yellow flowered one I bought from a nursery that also sources from a seed-grown supplier. Its been a slow-but-steady grower.
    Good luck with the thesis writing. Do you have to defend as well? Just remember it’s all just a hoop to jump thru. I defended mine back in 95, and it was more a case of my advisor and thesis readers showing off their one-trick-pony of THEIR particular interest, not so much what I had to say. We all had a good time though I confessed to one I hadn’t read his particular speciality and had no intention of doing so. (this was in English and I was writing about a modern Canadian novelist, not about mouldy old J. Swift, his speciality) Hah.

Leave a Reply

