The First Daffodils

She wore her yellow sun-bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
“Winter is dead.”
                                      by A. A. Milne

                                                                            “When We Were Very Young”

The first of my daffodils bloomed today. It actually got up to 60 degrees (F) and my early girls decided to flirt and show off their pretty, yellow petticoats. They live in a sheltered, naturalized corner, go by the name of February Gold and are always the first to bloom.  Unfortunately, it almost always frosts or snows after they start blooming, so I either get a lovely bouquet for the house, or I take the chance that  they are protected enough to take a little cold. Snow is in the forecast for Sunday.

 p40206651 p40206591

February Gold

I also have a couple at the front of the house that just popped today as well.  I bought those as a bag of mixed bulbs so I don’t know what kind they are.

p4020666 p4020667

My squill is also in bloom. I have the usual blue siberian squill which naturalized in my lawn from my neighbor’s yard, and snow squill, which I bought and planted very carefully in the garden a few years ago. The squirrels immediately dug up the bulbs and replanted them in the lawn.

p3310654 p3310653

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, Seasonal, spring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The First Daffodils

  1. Cathy says:

    Beautiful Daffodils, and for some reason I have so many woodland Hyacinths growing in my lawn too.
    but those Siberian Squills are so pretty…
    Happy Spring!

  2. Sue says:

    I like those daffs and squills. I hope it warms up soon!

  3. Joy says:

    Jill these are such pretty Spring flowers to see !
    I’d come over and have tea and cookies with you and discuss the merits of having flower “gold” in the garden : )

  4. elizabethm says:

    I have February Gold too and love it. I also have Thalia which is beautiful and a little later. We call those scilla here and I adore the intense blue! Spring is certainly here now and I hope not far away for you.

Leave a Reply

