Dirty Fingers,Wet Knees & a New Fence

p3300639 p3300642

Weather Report: Cool weather for the last 2 days, in the upper 40’s. Yesterday was calm and sunny and I didn’t mind working outside. Today the temperature was slightly warmer but it was cloudy, kept spitting rain and it was windy so it felt colder.

I thought my job was simple. I had an old picket fence that was rotting away, though the posts were still sound. I had new fence sections delivered Sunday. I figured, easy job to rip out the old fence and hammer in the new.

p3300635

The old fence

p3300636

The new fence

Monday:It never is simple, is it? The old fence came out easy enough, until I got to the gate. The hinge was bolted to the old fencing plus I had hydranga vine that had been growing around the fence. I pruned out the vine, then decided to take advantage of the easy access to do some weeding in the beds against the fence. That took longer than I realized so I stopped for the evening. I still had 2 fence sections up.

p3300638

cleaning out the beds

 p3300634 p3310647

2 sections to go                                       the problem gate

Tuesday: Okay, this is where the process really got difficult. The new fencing was taller than the old so the posts were too short. I got out my power saw and cut about 4 inches off all the bottom pickets. I also had to trim off the ends. It took all afternoon, and I still hadn’t gotten to the last two fencing sections. Anyway, though it isn’t my best work, the new fencing looks pretty good.

p3310645 p3310646

the new fencing after a long afternoon

Tonight my hammer arm is sore and tomorrow I’ve got to try to take out 2 large rusty bolts in order to get the last of the sections off. Then I’ve got to cut down and hammer in the last 2 new sections. And, of course, I’ll need to do something with the gate. It’s supposed to be nicer on Thursday, so perhaps I’ll wait until then to finish up.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

