Cold Fingers and a Runny Nose

p3290596

Glory of the snow – the pink variety

Weather report:I don’t mean to depress anyone and the day didn’t start out too badly. It was drizzling but not too cold. By the time I was ready to drive out to the country to get my weekly fix, it got colder and started spitting a very wet snow, more like slush: it was slushing. Temperature got up to 38 degrees (F) and will get down to 25 degrees tonight. Tomorrow will be sunny but only get up to 48 degrees. I would be happier if it was warmer.

p3290608  

p3290613 

p3290622 

p3290623

Despite the cold, I promised my Mom I would walk down to the lake to see if the pussy willows were in bloom. Of course, I promised this last week when the weather was a little warmer. The lake is small and swampy so wellies are required. I grabbed my camera because I have to make a record of the lake in all weather and seasons. It’s a part of my obsession fascination with water. I can’t work the camera with my gloves on, so they off they came. Brrrr. It was nippy!

p3290614 

p3290617 

The pussy willows agreed. They were in bloom but frozen.  

p3290615 

I clipped a nice bouquet plus some bright red dogwood branches and took them home to display with Mom’s Easter decorations.

p3290619

Addendum: My picket fence was delivered today. On a Sunday morning, even. I’ve always had mixed feelings about the big home improvement stores having grown up with the personalized service that locally owned stores provided. However, Lowe’s offering to deliver my order on a Sunday, is really great customer service and I suspect unusual in the retail world.

p3290600

The new fence along with the old.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, spring, water and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Fingers and a Runny Nose

  1. I’ve wanted a picket fence for ages so I’m jealous. Your snowy rainy pics are pretty. Hate to tell you in was in the high 60s today in NC.

  2. Cathy says:

    Yeah I know what you’re going through…it’s like winter time again. Great photos…

Leave a Reply

