Outdoor Chores

p13101731

Thanks to all who left Birthday wishes at Blotanical and on Facebook.

I took the day off to celebrate the day of my birth. I made my annual pilgrimage to the Secretary of State’s office to get my new driver’s license tags and stopped by the local Lowe’s to purchase 7 new picket fence sections. My fence, which has been in place since I bought my home about 15 years ago has been slowly falling apart. For the last 2 years, I had been keeping it together with some string and a prayer. This winter, it finally fell apart.

p3160553

An unusual birthday present to myself. Now hopefully, the weather will cooperate and let me put up the new sections while I take a week’s vacation.  Another present to myself.

I have a whole long list of things to do while on vacation, mostly outdoor chores. If the weather continues in the 50’s (F), I’ll be able to get a lot done.

Stuff I hope to get done:

  • put up the new fence
  • clean out all the garden beds.
  • rake up all the dead grass and leaves in the lawn
  • clean the compost bins
  • cut and bundle dead limbs
  • replace the old birdfeeder
  • prune stuff
  • plant some pansies – I got too excited at the local spring expo and bought a flat.
  • a few other fix-it things around the property. I love playing with my hammer and saw. 

If the weather refuses to cooperate I will:

  • get caught up my book reading
  • play in my sewing room
  • maybe see a movie or two
  • a day in Chicago – to my favorite place, the art museum and maybe check out a few stores

See, I try to balance work with fun.  I know, I’ve got way too much to do than I can possibly get done in one week. I’ll do my best to get as much done as possible.

 

p32405921

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, gardening, goals, lists, Seasonal, spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Outdoor Chores

  1. Melanthia says:

    Just came across your blog. Happy belated birthday. Love the boots, just got my own pair for x-mas. Your to-do list looks as long as mine.

  2. Cathy says:

    Spring is here and it’s time to get those gloves on
    and hit the dirt! Pretty Pansies!

  3. Joy says:

    Jill ! I am so remiss in visiting your blog and even more so in missing wishing you a VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY !! .. I have been a bit distracted but that is no excuse .. you have been so sweet in visiting my blog girl !
    You have so many chores lined up for yourself, I hope you have a friend or two helping you with some of them maybe ? .. you will certainly need a rain day in-between to give you “you” time !
    I’m so sore and stiff today after my adventures yesterday .. but the weather was so wonderful .. and I needed a some what garden ? fix to hold me over .. especially with the rain now .. and of course delays in the deck project .. BIG sigh ! LOL
    Hope your day was special Jill : )

  4. Jill I missed your birthday because it happened during the week while I was away working. So I bring a virtual birthday bouquet to you and a sincere set of birthday wishes for the coming year. You’re a good thing about March!

Leave a Reply

