Views of the Chicago Flower and Garden Show part 3

Lovely Vistas and Cool Views

I’m always attracted to Asian themes. Asian gardens always exude peace and calm – we can all use a little of that in our lives. Remember, clicking on the photos will give you a larger view.

p3100455

A different Asian garden. I love how the bamboo fence opens to a window creating a frame for a beautiful tree.

p3100511

The entrance to this display is beautiful, but it seems too grand for  a real garden.

p3100483 p31004841 p31004852 

Yet in the same display… simple moss among the stones or on a rock.

p3100482 p3100488

This was a very cool display. From urban blight to a lush garden.

p3100493 p31004991

In the same display, this is what really caught my attention. I wonder if I could create some garden art with the same look.

p3100494 p3100495 p3100502

I spoke with a person affiliated with this Paradise in a Parking Lot display and she referred me to the Wicker Park Garden website which explained how they put the display together.

Among  my wanderings through the marketplace (I’m proud to say I showed considerable restraint) I stopped at the Chicagoland Gardening magazine booth and met some very nice people. With so many magazines owned by a few large conglomerates, it’s nice to see a locally owned, locally run garden magazine. Even though I don’t live in Chicago, Southwest Michigan is in the same hardiness zone so I subscribed.

After a long day, I headed back home, ready to start digging in my garden.

p3100529

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in Chicago, gardens, photos, spring, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Views of the Chicago Flower and Garden Show part 3

  1. Cathy says:

    Sure would be nice to have all of the garden displays from the show in your own garden, I would just be
    in heaven!

  2. I really wish I had been able to attend this event. Chicago does it’s gardening with style.
    I made my first visit to Chicago in the Fall and I was thrilled with the gardenscaping along the avenues. Very nice!

    -GartenGrl

  3. Carrie says:

    I remember visiting a temple complex in Kyoto, Japan and they revered the moss and had example of them all displayed with a little sign ‘Very Important Moss – Like VIP’, hehe. They are beautiful when you take the time to look and touch them. Moss gardens are very popular there and it’s my new excuse for the state of our lawn!

  4. Melanie says:

    Lovely pictures. I have always enjoyed the simple lines of asain cultures, and I love the bamboo fencing you have shown here. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

