Friday in the Garden

   p3060385 A new home for salvaged birdfeeder (robin’s nest included)

Weather report: What an amazing day! We had sunny skies with temperatures up to 70 degrees (F). I had the day off from work so I spent the morning running errands. At the bank, the garage where I got my oil change, the bagel shop and the university library; everyone had a spring in their step and a smile on their lips. Everyone wanted me to have a GREAT Friday. Unfortunately, tomorrow begins a weekend of rain and possible flooding with temperatures falling and highs going back to the 40’s. This is still better then the 20’s we have been having.

p30603641 signs of spring on a warm day

Time in the garden: I spent my first real day in the day doing a little work. I didn’t get a whole lot done, just took a good look around and started cleaning up a back corner of the yard. I had been tossing fallen limbs back there, now I’ve got to cut them all to size for city pickup and the larger pieces for my fireplace.

p3060373 

A garden bed in need of cleaning out

p3060381

my brush pile: a work in progress

A couple of weeks ago, I had posted a lovely photo of last summer’s morning glories. Over the winter, the post supporting my birdfeeder had rotted at the soil line and fell over.

I loved that birdfeeder. I bought it about 8 years ago at the flea market in Shipshewana, Indiana. Everyone in northern Indiana and lower Michigan knows that’s the place to go for interesting stuff to buy. I didn’t have a birdfeeder at the time and I thought that the gazebo style would look great in the garden.

The birdfeeder didn’t work very well as a method to feed the birds but it still got used  over the years as a nesting platform. Blue jays and robins would put up with me and my dog: meaning we would be attacked when we got too close. I avoided mowing that side of the yard until the babies flew. Before nesting season began, I would run string up and down, from the ground (where I pinned it down) up and around the openings. I could get in close to plant the seeds as long as the eggs hadn’t yet hatched. Some years I planted hyacinth beans, other years morning glories and moonflowers, with nasturtiums around the base.

Today, as part of my yard cleanup, I removed the birdfeeder from the post. After 8 years it really was falling apart but still has character and charm. I think I’ll try to fix it up enough to try to get through one more summer.  I doubt that I can use it for my morning glories.  I may have to find another place for my vining flowers.

p3060382 p3060383 p3060384 Salvaging the birdfeeder

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in birds, gardening, spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday in the Garden

  1. blossom says:

    Couldn’t wait to see your new flowerbed. And, I want a bird-feeder, too!

  2. Cathy says:

    Your garden looks like mine at the moment…
    I also like salvaging old things and restoring it.

  3. Sue says:

    Hi Jill,
    I like what you’ve done with your bird feeder. In the fall, I was reading about the needs of wildlife in yards. I remember reading that it’s good to have some brush for shelter, I think for butterflies, but I’m not sure. You may want to find an out of the way spot for some of your twigs. I keep forgetting to do that intentionally, but probably have some around the compost pile.

  4. Sue says:

    I forgot to subscribe to follow-up comments, so am doing so by commenting again. Take Care!

  5. jellyfishbay says:

    Blossom, Love your name. The brush pile will take a while to get through, then I need to clean up that whole area. It may just take all summer to get it the way I want. After all, I always have 4-5 projects to work on all at one time.

    Carol, I usually wait until spring to clean up my garden beds. I like to leave the seed heads for the birds.

    Sue, I like the idea of leaving a bit of brush I know the mourning doves used it this winter, and I’m pretty sure I had bunny visitors that demolished my burning bush shrub by eating all the bark off of it. I don’t have a lot of space to spare for brush, but I do have some overgrown shrubs that the critters can hide in.

Leave a Reply

