Feeling a little Lost

how-to-survive-a-shipwreck-1

I’ve been stranded. As the old saying goes, you never know how much you’re going to miss something until it’s gone. Instead of spending the evening checking out new members writings or reading the newest posts from my favorite blogs, I’m playing solitaire on my computer.

Since this morning, Blotanical has been offline. I’m not sure why, but I feel as thought I’ve been cut off from the rest of the world.

I stumbled onto this website in September, by chance.  I was tag surfing through WordPress looking for other garden blogs. One blog talked about Garden Bloggers Bloom Day with a link to another gardener’s blog. There was also an interesting looking button and a mention of “Blotanical”. I clicked on it.

And discovered a community of bloggers. People who loved to garden, loved gardens, plants and nature. They were just like me!

I spent some time exploring different online gardens and their owners but it just wasn’t enough. I felt I needed more. So I joined and began what I can only call an obsession.

Though I usually spend most of my online time during the evening, I have to log into Blotanical several times during the day to see how my posts are doing, to check on my favorite bloggers and see what they are up to, read any new messages, and to explore new gardens from all over the U.S. and even the world.

With the exception of a few family members, in my own small circle of friends, I’m the only one interested in gardening, the only one who enjoys blogging and the only one whose idea of a great time is to go to the local nature center to hike in the woods. Now, even though I’ve never met them in person, I’m getting to know some very nice people; gardeners who are supportive in my explorations of growing things and taking pictures.

I’m sure Blotanical is currently having some sort of technical problem; but how long will it take before they get back online? I’m going through some sort of withdrawal. 

I’m not sure how long I can hold out. queen-alice

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, community, gardening, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling a little Lost

  1. Daphne Gould says:

    Well they are back now :>. I felt the same way. I had to read a book last night instead of reading gardening blogs.

  2. Sue says:

    LOL, I have enough feeds on my blog, that I was still able to spend the evening blogging, but I did miss it, and kept checking from time to time. I have a routine, and usually read the blogs I follow through blotanical so I can “pick” them, then go to my own list and read those that aren’t on blotanical. Sometimes I reverse the order.

  3. RainGardener says:

    I think we were all experiencing ‘blotanical withdrawal’ of some sort. I’m so new at it I didn’t think I’d be affected so much. NOT!
    I’m glad I read Sue’s comment too – to do my blotanical list first so I can do some picks. I just found out how to do it and that ya have to be fast! Such a learning experience not only in gardening but in blogging!
    Love your Gilligan’s Island pic – how appropriate!

Leave a Reply

