Ramblings of a spring-starved gardener

Weather report: We missed most of the big snow storm that was supposed to come through last Saturday, only to deal with lake effect snow all day Sunday. The drifts ranged from 6 inches to 24 inches. Digging out my Mom’s driveway was a killer ’cause the snow was wet and heavy.

Throughout this week, we’ve been getting progressively warmer; we’ve moved into the dirty snow phase of winter. Yesterday, we reached a balmy 46 degrees (F) and an afternoon and evening of rain. Of course, it’s back down to the 20’s again this weekend so it isn’t over yet.

p22603142 p2260313 the dirty snow phase

March 1st deserves a holiday:  You cannot believe how excited I’ve been all week. I’ve actually been counting the days until March 1st. I keep telling everyone who’ll listen that March begins on Sunday. I know, I know, it’s not really going to make a difference; moving from one month to the next isn’t going to change anything. It’s not going to become spring overnight, but still, we’re one month closer to spring than we were last week. I am bubbling up with excitement – the kind of buzz you get when you’re over-caffeinated!  spring-flower the wildflower called Harbinger of Spring/what a great name for a flower

Why I’m a Rambler for this post: I’ve been feeling restless lately and am not sure why. I feel as though I should be doing something: not library work, not the dishes, the laundry or sewing. Something…just something else, but I don’t know what. I’ve got a birthday coming up at the end of March and one of my friends (who’s into astrology) says that at this time, I’m coming into my house, or moon, or something. Anyhow, during this period – for about 3 months around my birthday I’m supposed to be at my peak. Apparently this is the best time to get and pursue creative ideas, have lots of energy, just in a good positive place.

jill-and-umbrella me, checking for rain on a sunny day / I don’t know what I want

Of course, another friend says I could be menopausal. A third says cabin fever, that I’m just tired of winter. All I know is that I can’t shut off my brain, it seems to be going in ten directions at once.

Forcing Spring to arrive:  I’m already done my hyacinths, is it too soon to cut forsythia branches to force? I’m ready to go out with my clippers right now, at midnight, in my jammies and get some to bring into the house. p4240222 memories of last spring

cfgs-logoThe Chicago Flower show: I was so excited to be able to go to the Chicago Flower and Garden show this year. A group of master gardeners were going as a group by bus. I was all set to go. I found out that I sent in my money too late; the bus is full. Drat! I asked them to keep me on the waiting list in hopes that somebody would drop out, but I’m not sure whether I’ll make the cut.

Perhaps I should drive down and meet the group there. It’s about a 2 1/2 – 3 hour drive to the Navy Pier…I could probably do it. What I’ve got working against me is 1. my car – 10 years old and starting to feel it. I try not to do any long distance driving if I can help it. and 2. I really hate driving around Chicago. The traffic moves along very quickly and it’s easy to miss the correct exit if you don’t know your way around. I’m just a small town gal and this big city drivin’ makes me nervous.

chicago-skyline  photo of the Chicago skyline taken by number one niece

Bat Sighting: What the…..! While wrapping this post up a bat came swooping into my bedroom. I let out a yell of surprise and he flapped on out. I cautiously searched every room but don’t know where he went to. I know I live in an old house and occasionally get a bat in the summertime but in February? The internet says it’s 23 degrees tonight. He should be tucked away somewhere hibernating. Now I’m going to sleep very badly, probably with the bedroom light and tv on wondering where he came from and where he’s hiding. I realize that I’m anxious for spring to arrive but not for this.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, gardens, Michigan, nature, spring, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ramblings of a spring-starved gardener

  1. Sue says:

    I think your post title says it all. March getting here is a huge milestone, and the middle of April even better.

    Hang in there, Jill!

  2. joey says:

    Hey Jill (my daughter’s name … love it’) … forget the bat (til bedtime), grab those pruners and stalk the forsythia … it’s time to force those beauties!

  3. EB says:

    Hello – I sympathise so, so strongly with you about spring! This year has been better for me because I have been watching like a hawk for early signs, and the catkins cheered me up enormously. But I remember 2 years ago pining dreadfully for flowers, and going to a garden centre and buying all sorts of silly short-terms things just because they were colourful. You know how they say you shouldn’t go food shopping when you’re hungry… the same applies to plants, I find! Our forsythia is just about to flower here. I took a picture yesterday afternoon and it’s visibly further on this morning. The blue-tits do enjoy nibbling the buds but there are thousands, so I don’t grudge them, especially when they must be hungry.

  4. Cathy says:

    Ahh.. But Jill, Downtown Chicago is a Beautiful
    city! I should know I lived here for 44 years….
    The Chicago Flower show is a great show, been there a few times and loved it! Hopefully you’ll
    make it!

  5. I am like you.

    I cannot wait until Spring.

    OH! how I love to hear the birds sing and the bees buzz!

  6. Randy says:

    Jill,

    I’m no expert on bats, but I’ll bet it was an Eastern Red Bat. I had one at 2:20pm over my pond on a sunny day about a month ago. They live in trees by hanging onto branches. During the winter they can be found feeding in the daytime, insects are not out in the winter at night much. Thanks for the comments on my dragonfly photos, just posted some local wildflower photos.

Leave a Reply

