Desert Isle Plant Challenge

Current weather: 13 degrees F/ light wind / 3 inches of snow fell last night adding on to our 18 inches +

how-to-survive-a-shipwreck-1

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale,
A tale of a fateful trip
That started from this tropic port
Aboard this tiny ship.

The mate was a mighty sailing man,
The skipper brave and sure.
Five passengers set sail that day
For a three hour tour, a three hour tour.

The weather started getting rough,
The tiny ship was tossed,
If not for the courage of the fearless crew
The minnow would be lost, the minnow would be lost.

The ship set ground on the shore of this uncharted desert isle
With Gilligan
The Skipper too,
The millionaire and his wife,
The movie star
The professor and Mary Ann,
Here on Gilligans Isle.

A little late, as usual, I am here to post the answer to the question originally posed by Shirl at Shirls gardenwatch. It was:  if you were stranded on a desert island, what three plants would you want with you?  I don’t think I can make a working car or radio from bamboo like they did in Gilligan’s Isle. Still, the challenge states that there is already food available and there are no limitations to the growing conditions, so I can concentrate on pleasure instead of necessity.

The first plant I choose would be the lantana. They come in all sorts of bright, zippy colors, it’s like having a  fiesta in the garden. It would be wonderful to enjoy them all year round instead of just during the summer as I do now. I also like the added plus of  butterflies that the plants attract.

p7200530 p7200546

My second choice is the chocolate mint. It seems to be less invasive than other mints and it smells just like Girl Scout thin mint cookies. Since the scent is in the leaves instead of the flowers, I can enjoy it all year-round. Also, I can make fresh mint tea…a person can get tired of plain water that the island provides.

herb_chocolate_mint

The first two choices were fairly easy. The third is the most difficult. Should I go with a tree for protection, or one of my favorite flowers. Perhaps, because of my pale complexion, I should bring an aloe to deal with the sunburn I know I’m sure to get.

I’ve always wanted a pine for my tiny backyard, but haven’t yet found the right evergreen that fits the space and my preferences. I think I’ll just take one with me to the  island. An Austrian Pine would be perfect. It’s dense, so it will make a good windbreak and give protection from the sun and rain, not just for me, but for the birds that visit.

 austrian-pine

 Well, that’s it. I could keep on going, switching plants around and trying different combos. I keep thinking that perhaps I should have put in another flowering plant for more color: perennial sweet pea or morning glories perhaps, or zinnias. I do love rudbeckia and lilies in the summer and daffodils in the spring. No, no…this is a good list, I guess I’ll keep it.

So you’ll find me with Gilligan, the Skipper and all the gang living it up on Gilligan’s Isle. (You just know that Mary Ann will be my garden buddy).

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in flowers, gardening, humor, plants, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Desert Isle Plant Challenge

  1. tina says:

    How wonderful your opening part on Gilligan’s Island. It brings back so many memories. I had to rush home from school just to watch it. (Way before the Internet:)

    Love the lantana and chocolate mint! What a good idea to be able to smell Girl Scout cookies. The pine will be fun. Glad you’re coming along.

  2. Grace says:

    “Mayday, mayday, this is the skipper…” (Couldn’t help myself.) Great plant choices. I can practically smell the chocolate mint. I love lantana too.

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    Yikes! I just read my post back and saw all the typos. I forgot my mantra: proofread, proofread, proofread. I’ve got to quit writing these posts at midnight.

    Tina – not Tina Louise? I have many mints in my gardens and the chocolate mint is my favorite. It evokes childhood memories of Girl Scout – just as Gilligan’s Island does.
    Is it sad that I can summarize the plots of many of the episodes? And how many of us can sing the theme song by heart?

    Grace – I like bright, happy plants and the lantana makes me smile.

  4. jodi says:

    Oh, Jill, you know what happens if you plant mint…it just keeps on giving! The desert island would become a mint isle! But I love lantana (wish it was hardy here) and pine trees are almost as beloved as my moody old spruce trees.

  5. jellyfishbay says:

    Jodi,
    I know, I know, but I love the mints. My chocolate mint seems to be the least invasive of the ones I own. I could keep it in a container, or plant it in the poorer soil on the island in order to slow down the growth.

  6. Sue says:

    Now, I have a song going through my head I don’t know all the words to. LOL

    I love your choices. I grow several kinds of mint in pots. They don’t always survive the winter, but usually do. Chocolate mint is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

