Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2009

Oh, the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful.

p11000331

Since we’ve no place to go, Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

p1100037

It doesn’t show signs of stopping, and I’ve brought some corn for popping.

p1100034

The lights are turned way down low, Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

p1100035

 What we’ve got here is the kind of winter I remember from my childhood, with lots of snowy days and nights. The snow in my backyard is up to my knees and I’m getting plenty of exercise shoveling my walk and driveway each night after I come home from work.

However, it’s warm inside and my paperwhites are showing off their delicate beauty. Carol from May Dreams Gardens invites garden folk on the 15th of each month to post whatever is blooming in the garden. My offering is small but the little flowers give me a lift, especially after looking out the window to our lovely weather.

p1060028

p1060027

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in bloom day, Michigan, nature, photos, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2009

  1. I love all your snow pictures, we don’t get that kind of snow in Southern Nevada but once every thirty years. My Paperwhites have not bloomed yet, but I got a late start on forcing them. Gives me inspiration to keep nuturing them!

  2. nell jean says:

    Aren’t paperwhites wonderful? Mine bloomed for Christmas and are already planted outside. They take about two years to recover and require a warm climate to survive. Otherwise, they are annuals.

    Regardless, they are a wintertime treat. Were you lucky enough to get the kind that smells sweet, but not too?

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks for your comments. I love the paperwhites too, even though mine have more of a medicinal smell than anything else. I’ve also got a batch of hyacinths waiting in the wings. Believe it or not, it’s snowing harder now tonight (thursday) than in these photos from Saturday.

  4. All that snow, made me kinda cold! Good think you had some paperwhites insides.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

Leave a Reply

