Burning Calories Thru Gardening

008phys2

Since I promised myself and my doctor to lose weight this year, I have, like any good library employee, started to research. I am currently working my way thru a new book with a fascinating title: Garden Your Way to Health and Fitness by Bunny Guinness and Jacqueline Knox. I haven’t read enough to make any kind of decision on the book yet, but I did come across a chart for burning calories which I’d like to share with other gardeners.

Gardening Calorie Chart

Activity                                                     Calories burned per hour

(Approximate values based on a 140- pound person)

  • Sitting watching TV                                                  60
  • Light office work                                                        90
  • Driving fast                                                                125

Carrying heavy loads, e.g. large pots                         500

Carrying, loading, or stacking wood                           325

Carrying logs                                                                        710

Chopping logs with ax, fast paced                            1,100

Chopping logs with ax, slow paced                             325

Chopping wood, splitting logs                                       385

Clearing land, hauling branches                                   325

Collecting grass or leaves                                              260

Digging, spading, filling garden                                   325

Gardening with a heavy power tool, tilling            385

Laying turf or crushed rock                                         325

Planting seedings or shrubs                                         260

Planting trees                                                                    295

Raking lawn                                                                        260

Spreading soil with shovel                                          325

Trimming shrubs with power trimmers                234

Trimming shrubs or trees with shears                   290

Walking, applying fertilizer or seeding a lawn    155

Watering lawn or garden                                               90

Weeding                                                                             290

Of course, since it is in the middle of winter, all cold and nasty, I won’t be able to take advantage of any of these calorie burners until the weather is better. I guess I’m a fair weather gardener. I need to find something else until then.

garden-your-way1

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, goals, lists, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Burning Calories Thru Gardening

  1. You could chop wood! It looks like you need to chop real fast to get the best benefits. I think it takes a lot of calories to blog don’t you?

  2. tina says:

    Good luck! I think gardening would help me as I do all these all year, the problem is I eat enough to make up for calories lost:(((

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    I’ve never chopped wood and I’m not sure I’d want to. I do pretty much everything else. This time of year, I just want to cuddle under my blanket and read. How many calories is that, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

