Ringing the New Year in

bell-flower1

Now that I’ve taken a look back over the last year, it’s time to look forward to 2009. I’m the type of person that works best when having goals and making lists. I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions, however, I like to make short-term and long-term goals two or three times a year. Since January is at the start of the year, it is a good time for contemplation and making lists. The only rule I follow is that it’s okay if the goals are just partially realized or not fulfilled at all. Life is not constant, goals need to be as flexible.

Some short-term goals:

enterprisinghousekeeper1 I just found out that our community education center will be giving cooking classes this winter. I am not a cook. I thought this would be a good opportunity to learn a little something and have some fun. My only concern is that the classes will be demonstration type and I usually do better in hands-on type classes. I’ll just attend the first one on January 12 and see how it goes.

008phys1 I promised my doctor that I would lose some weight by March. I’m not yet sure how I will be going about it, I need to work that part out. Perhaps the cooking class will give me guidance.

free_t21I’d like to pursue an artistic life. In order to get started, I need to clean and organize my sewing/craft room. I haven’t really been in there for a few years and it has turned into a giant storage closet.

illustrations1 It’s time to finish my master’s thesis. I had such a good time this summer just living a normal life after six years of school that I procrastinated. Now I have to get it done by April if I want the degree in Performing Arts Administration and certification in Nonprofit Leadership.

fern  This winter I’m going to explore houseplants. Sue from A Corner Garden inspired me with all her lovely indoor plants. I’m not very good at indoor gardens, they usually just barely survive from year to year.  Two books that gave me great ideas are tabletop-gardens-12 Tabletop Gardens by Rosemary McCreary (2002) and tabletop-gardens1 Beautiful Tabletop Gardens by Janice Eaton Kilby (2003). They are both similar in content, giving instructions for water, bog , succulents, terrariums, flowers and foliage gardens as well as others. My interest was mostly in the presentation, the way in which the plants are displayed, not clustered around the window but planted together and used as centerpieces or focal points for a room. I’ve got a list together of plants I’d like to try for starting my own indoor gardens.

Long-term goals:

judge-devil1 After a long hiatus, I’d like to get back into the performing arts field again. When my student loan is finally paid off, I hope to retire from my current job at the library and begin a second career in performing arts or a nonprofit organization. I will need to expand my experiences in fund development and brush up on my marketing knowledge.

artist-s-studioTo gain more artistic skills, especially in the areas of book and printmaking. This may mean seeing what other artists are doing, taking classes, reading books and just doing. The first step is getting my craft room back in shape (see above).

And, like always, to live a healthier life, spend more time with my family and be more organized.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, books, crafts, gardening, lists, New Year, school, theatre, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ringing the New Year in

  1. Kim says:

    I commend your decision and action to document your goals. You are far more likely to achieve them now that you’ve written them down. Happy new year and good luck!

  2. tina says:

    Good luck with all!

  3. Joy says:

    Jill ! Happy New Year … I know I am very late with that .. I don’t know where my head has been .. we have had a bout of flu and now colds .. it seems when I try to spend time on here I can’t last very long. I too have to lose weight .. we got the utility room decluttered as much as possible so the beast (aka treadmill) is ready to ROCK .. now it is just me trying to prepare myself ?? LOL
    Love the illustrations : )

Leave a Reply

