Ringing the Old Year Out

bell-flower

Even though everyone does it, I still like to spend a little time in contemplation of my life at the end of the year. 2008 has been a very full year. It has been a year of endings, a year of beginnings, a year of exploration, and a year of growth.

Endings:

The saddest ending this year was saying goodbye to my sweet dog, Sammi. She lived a long and happy life and I will miss her.

I also finished my graduate classes this year, after 6 years of working towards my master’s degree, one or two classes a semester. I’m still working on my thesis but at least the classes are done.

Beginnings:

The best beginning in 2008 was the birth of my great-nephew. His mom and  dad live far away on the west coast so I’ve only seen pictures of him so far, but we hope they will visit Michigan this summer. 

Exploration and growth:

This year I decided to learn about native flowers,  woodland and marshland varieties. I was already aware of the most common types, especially those that had been hybridized but spent most of the spring exploring the woods of the local nature center and the summer exploring some trails through the bogs in the area. p5040343 p4060132 p4260249 p8060653 

I began a search to rediscover my artistic life. Working full time and going back to school put a crimp in my creative side. I used to be an actor, costume designer, and director. I have a sewing/craft room that hasn’t been used in a number of years. The exploration of this part of my life has been slow but I hope it will pick up in 2009.

I have been blogging now for a few years and recently celebrated my 100th posting. I never thought of myself as much of a writer, but have enjoyed it so much that my sporadic postings now average about 2-3 times a week. I feel that I’ve grown as a blogger, a photographer and become comfortable in the community of garden bloggers, thanks to the Blotanical website and those bloggers whose main interest is in arts and crafts, such as the Mixed Media Monday and Inspire Me Thursday blogs.

By next time I post, it will be time to Ring the New Year in.

erte11

                        Happy New Year!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, lists, New Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ringing the Old Year Out

  1. Happy New Year Jill – I enjoyed reading your review of how 2008 was for you – and I hope that 2009 is a good year for you – (particularly in the sewing / craft room 🙂 ?)
    K

  2. tina says:

    So sorry for the loss of your companion. I can’t imagine what it is like and so dread the day here at my home. Happy New Year to you! May it be the best.

  3. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks Tina, I was lucky to have her. As much as I would like to have an upbeat, positive postings all the time, I still have to be real…sometimes sad things happen.

  4. Sue says:

    I enjoyed reading about your experiences. Where were you when you were into the acting activities?

    Happy New Year,
    Sue

    I’m glad you were able to comment on my blog. Thanks!

  5. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks for all your comments, Sue. Happily, I live in a college town halfway between Chicago and Detroit. The town has always had a strong arts and theatre community. I started singing and dancing in a youth group in the early 70’s, moved on to acting and costuming during my college years. I ended up getting my bachelor’s degree in theatre design when I was 32 and did my share of work in that field, first as a costume designer, then director and producer. Unfortunately, I had to work full time at the local library during the day in order to do theatre at night. When I decided to go back to school, I temporarily had to give up the theatre life, which, after a certain point is exhausting after a full work day. Sometime I’ll have to post some adventures.

Leave a Reply

